ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 30 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
P
pdh Offline OP
Member
Anyone ever seen an IEC 60320 C13 outlet built as a wall receptacle, preferably for USA box and plate standards? Listed even better.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Just out of carosity, what are you trying to power? Plug configurations are to prevent applying the wrong voltage, improper ampere, and in this case, possibly the wrong frequency. By installing a receptacle of a certain configuration invites any type of equipment with that plug configuration be plugged into it. Even in an supervised environment. If you are installing a piece of European equipment that will work on the North American power grid, can't you just install the appropriate plug and recept configuration?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
P
pdh Offline OP
Member
Devices with C14 plugs are supposed to be able to handle 100-240 volts AC, 50 or 60 Hz. That's probably not the case for shavers and the like, but they have a different plug.

I also want the shroud configuration. I suppose Schuko might also work. Anyone ever seen those fitting American boxes? Or would I need to get the European box setup?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
We had C13 panel mount receptacles in a lot of our machines. They are not a horrible fit in a L-15-R cover with the round hole but it is not listed to be used that way.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
P
pdh Offline OP
Member
I was figuring that if they were made for wall mounting, they would more likely be made to fit in a decora style plate, rather than the traditional ones. E.g. a single device with one, two, or maybe even three, C13 outlets, in the decora dimensions.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
The problem with C13 is you are not sure what voltage will be there.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 787
L
Member
Just like the dual T slot.

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Member
Isn't nearly all equipment with an IEC C13 connector auto-ranging or equipped with a voltage switch?

What's the application, data center? I've seen a lot of power strips in rack-mount units that have IEC C13/15/19 outlets.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
There are plenty of machines out there with switch selected or single voltage supplies


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
303,127 Are you busy
232,148 Re: Forum
216,868 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5