ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 272 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
This Week The Company that i have been working with basically full time for the last 6 years banned razor utility knives. A couple of their employees cut themselves over the last several years, So they decided to prohibit them. Contractors and vendors included.
The "Safety Captain" informed me of the new policy as i was headed to strip and hook up a 350 MCM cord.
My initial reaction was that their is no way for me to do my job without a utility knife. Some things i can do off site but not much.
Has anyone else ran into this Problem?
I'm Sure a utility knife is the proper and only tool for the Job, especially when working with large conductors.

It's Not The Fall That Kills You...
It's That Sudden Stop At The End
Arc Flash PPE Clothing, LOTO & Insulated Tools
Actually,
There are "proper" knives for stripping cables and large wires.
Being a Liney, I own one of these things, how it differs to your stock standard knife, is that it has a T-shaped piece welded to the end of the blade, not only so that it only cuts the insulation (and not the conductor material), but if you slip with it, you aren't going to get the end of the knife stuck into a part of your body, where it could do some really hideous damage.