ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Furnace igniter leaking noise to stereo
by Haligan. 05/21/18 03:28 PM
480 Delta
by ghost307. 05/21/18 10:38 AM
turning down possible problem customer
by HotLine1. 05/21/18 07:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by HotLine1. 05/14/18 09:42 AM
What estimating software do you recommend?
by wattsittoyou. 05/14/18 06:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 32 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Automating Manual Gen Transfer Swtich... #204272
11/25/11 03:03 PM
11/25/11 03:03 PM
J
johnmixdecn  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
NY
Hi all. I have a setup with a diesel genset. This genset feeds a 3 phase panel (120/120/120). This panel has 4 double breakers, each feed a single phase panel, each of which has a manual transfer switch that switchs the panel between line power and the 3 phase gen panel. This has worked well for years.

What im looking to do is to automate this. Installing 3 auto transfer switchs is beyond my budget.

What im thinking is I will write a program that runs on a dedicated PC (on battery backup of course) that will watch the incoming power, and when we lose power, or a even lose a single phase...it will start and warm up the genset. Then it will wait a few minutes then flip each transfer switch over. I have writen a similar program for a smaller application that was in a communications shed in the woods. It worked great.

This is where my question comes in. Would it violate code in any way to have an electric actuator push/pull the handle of the transfer switchs from "Line" to "Gen"? I cant see how it would since this is external from any electrics and is doing this same thing as a human fliping the switch.

--John

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Automating Manual Gen Transfer Swtich... [Re: johnmixdecn] #204273
11/25/11 04:20 PM
11/25/11 04:20 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,222
Estero,Fl,usa
When you change a manual transfer switch to automatic (any way you do it) you do bring in the requirement that the generator now must be capable of maintaining the entire connected load.
Does your program do load management?
Other than that you might bump into 110.3(B) about using equipment the way the manufacturer's instructions specify.



Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 12
Popular Topics(Views)
246,856 Are you busy
184,209 Re: Forum
173,450 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9433 MB (Peak: 1.0597 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-05-22 00:38:42 UTC