ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
by gfretwell. 03/20/18 12:06 AM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
circuit mapping? #204129
11/15/11 12:26 AM
11/15/11 12:26 AM
crselectric  Offline OP
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 135
albany, ca
Any tricks or tips on making circuit map/list for old victorian type house, mostly K&T, some new kitchen circuits, but has three sub-panels that supply main areas of house, difficult to hunt and peck out circuits, anyone familiar with a Extech ct-40 tracer, it has 16 leads and common then test unit that will say which breaker lead at the recept.s? tried the walkie talkie route but too confusing with homeowner

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204130
11/15/11 01:00 AM
11/15/11 01:00 AM
KJay  Offline
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
I donít have any experience with the Extech CT40, but for the price, I donít think you could go wrong.
Iíve had my eye on one of the Tasco CMT42S circuit mappers for a few years now, but that kind of price for something Iíve never used before just seems to always stop me cold.

Tasco Circuit Mapper

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204141
11/16/11 03:44 AM
11/16/11 03:44 AM
Niko  Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
i use bunch of night lights and lot of back & forth from panel to the house.

i have seen the TASCO mapper in action. it is amazing.

Last edited by Niko; 11/16/11 03:44 AM. Reason: spelling

Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204142
11/16/11 05:03 AM
11/16/11 05:03 AM
gfretwell  Offline

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,185
You can use a radio plugged into the tested outlet (use an edison to 1-15 adapter in lighting outlets) if the customer can stand the noise.

Greg Fretwell
Re: circuit mapping? [Re: gfretwell] #204143
11/16/11 05:13 PM
11/16/11 05:13 PM
KJay  Offline
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
Sometimes I will just shut off all but one circuit and do a walkthrough of the house with a receptacle tester and a notepad making notations as to what lights and receptacles are on that circuit. This is pretty time consuming for one person though, especially with a building like in the OPís case. Thatís one reason I would like to try out one of those circuit mappers next time this type of situation comes up.

I have one of those TestUm Lanscaper network cable mappers with 8-remotes and a bunch of different adapter cords, but I never actually thought about trying it on deenergized line voltage circuits before.
I know if I unplug lamps and small appliances from the receptacles and turn off all the wall switches for ceiling lights, I can use a toner/probe to trace a deenergized circuit through the building this way, so maybe Iíll try the network mapper around my house and see how it works out.

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204145
11/16/11 05:51 PM
11/16/11 05:51 PM
Tesla  Offline
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
I've long owned a TASCO 42S...

I got the convention discount when it was first introduced.

If you have to rebuild panel schedules in a hurry it's the way to go.

It also permits you to figure things out while a business is on going.

A reduced circuit count device is also sold for residential situations.

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204146
11/16/11 06:38 PM
11/16/11 06:38 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,934
Brick, NJ USA
If you can find one of those 'button' type bulb flashers, they work great in edison base light fixtures....

Unscrew bulb, insert button in socket base, re-install bulb.

Use a 100 watt bulb, and amp clamp for a close to 1 amp pulse...that's the circuit.

Ringing out a new house, use a 'temp' socket at the lighting locations.

Dig around and find an old adaptor socket that plugs into a receptacle.....proceed as above.

Also, used the radio. In comm jobs, I had a 120 volt claxon horn! Not reccomended for an occupied resi job though.

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204179
11/18/11 10:41 AM
11/18/11 10:41 AM
harold endean  Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
I use to have a Paser tracer. ( I believe that was how it was spelled.) Then Amprobe bought them out. There were 2 types of tracers. 1 for live circuits and 1 for dead circuits. We used them all the time.

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: HotLine1] #204181
11/18/11 11:40 AM
11/18/11 11:40 AM
KJay  Offline
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
Iíve heard about the flasher trick for years, but have never actually tried it myself. I noticed that Cooper says their BP1008 flasher button has a 65-85 per minute flash rate. Is that something that would work with a digital amp clamp or is it better suited to an analog type clamp?
My thinking is that it might be too fast for a digital clamp meter display to stabilize, but might be easier to see the needle bounce on an analog meter, although maybe not.

Re: circuit mapping? [Re: crselectric] #204210
11/21/11 07:20 AM
11/21/11 07:20 AM
knowledge  Offline
New Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
well is that ^ the best convenient way to trace them? or to tool is the way to go


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 5
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,415 Are you busy
181,531 Re: Forum
171,579 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.033s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0109 MB (Peak: 1.1910 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-20 06:00:58 UTC