ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
AreMetal Ladders Ever OK For Electrical Work?
by HotLine1. 01/22/18 07:31 PM
Photocell
by twh. 01/22/18 05:06 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/20/18 05:09 PM
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
AFCI Breaker tripping #203678
10/19/11 09:47 AM
10/19/11 09:47 AM
S
sandro2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 49
philadelphia,PA
Has anyone ever had a problem with a Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter Kit tripping an AFCI breaker. I rewired a home and there is one in the basement and one in the bedroom and these 2 areas have these devices. Essentially these things provide ethernet network connectivity at any wall receptacle. Everytime the homeowner does large downloads the AFCI breaker trips.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: sandro2] #203683
10/19/11 12:46 PM
10/19/11 12:46 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,167
Estero,Fl,usa
I bet it is tripping for a ground fault. If this thing plugs in, try it in a SABC or bathroom circuit and see if it trips the GFCI.
Ethernet cables are supposed to be isolated from the DC bus with transformers but YMMV. The DC ground in a PC is tied to AC ground via the base plate of the PC case through the power supply.


Greg Fretwell
Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: gfretwell] #203685
10/19/11 01:28 PM
10/19/11 01:28 PM
S
sandro2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 49
philadelphia,PA
The whole concept of this device is to use the electrical wiring to pass data to the router. It doesnt trip right away it trips only when they start downloading large files. Its weird because they also have one in the basement and that AFCI breaker trips also when they start data transfer.

Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: sandro2] #203686
10/19/11 02:13 PM
10/19/11 02:13 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
I would gander that the high frequency two-way data communication is likely screwing with the electronics in the AFCI itself. I'm guessing they were probably only designed to be used with 60Hz, so here is possibly another application from advances in new technology that AFCI’s were never intended to handle.


I would shoot the circuit breaker manufacturer an email so they can begin to make revisions to the next generation of AFCI and add another $20.00 on to the current price for their efforts. frown


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
sparky 15
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,599 Are you busy
180,406 Re: Forum
170,869 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.008s) Memory: 0.9592 MB (Peak: 1.0923 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-23 13:50:15 UTC