ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Inspections and Testing
by HotLine1. 04/25/18 08:41 AM
FEMA height and electrical equiment.,
by HotLine1. 04/20/18 08:49 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by LongRunner. 04/19/18 04:02 PM
Recall notice: Square D Services Switches
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 01:24 PM
Big Square D service switch Recall
by sparkyinak. 04/18/18 12:30 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
AFCI Breaker tripping #203678
10/19/11 10:47 AM
10/19/11 10:47 AM
S
sandro2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 49
philadelphia,PA
Has anyone ever had a problem with a Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter Kit tripping an AFCI breaker. I rewired a home and there is one in the basement and one in the bedroom and these 2 areas have these devices. Essentially these things provide ethernet network connectivity at any wall receptacle. Everytime the homeowner does large downloads the AFCI breaker trips.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: sandro2] #203683
10/19/11 01:46 PM
10/19/11 01:46 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,199
Estero,Fl,usa
I bet it is tripping for a ground fault. If this thing plugs in, try it in a SABC or bathroom circuit and see if it trips the GFCI.
Ethernet cables are supposed to be isolated from the DC bus with transformers but YMMV. The DC ground in a PC is tied to AC ground via the base plate of the PC case through the power supply.


Greg Fretwell
Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: gfretwell] #203685
10/19/11 02:28 PM
10/19/11 02:28 PM
S
sandro2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 49
philadelphia,PA
The whole concept of this device is to use the electrical wiring to pass data to the router. It doesnt trip right away it trips only when they start downloading large files. Its weird because they also have one in the basement and that AFCI breaker trips also when they start data transfer.

Re: AFCI Breaker tripping [Re: sandro2] #203686
10/19/11 03:13 PM
10/19/11 03:13 PM
K
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
I would gander that the high frequency two-way data communication is likely screwing with the electronics in the AFCI itself. I'm guessing they were probably only designed to be used with 60Hz, so here is possibly another application from advances in new technology that AFCI’s were never intended to handle.


I would shoot the circuit breaker manufacturer an email so they can begin to make revisions to the next generation of AFCI and add another $20.00 on to the current price for their efforts. frown


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,266
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
245,928 Are you busy
182,996 Re: Forum
172,781 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9592 MB (Peak: 1.0923 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-04-25 14:42:32 UTC