ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,939 Are you busy
175,526 Re: Forum
167,790 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 58 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#203624 - 10/13/11 02:54 PM Static Line as Grounding conductor  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Michigan
Can a Static Line be used to Ground HV (4160 0r 13.8 Impedience grounded systems between buildings on poles??
I think your either required to have a Neutral or Grounding conductor.
Yoopersup


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#203691 - 10/19/11 06:04 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Ernie— I don't see anyone responding to your question and I think that possibly they don't understand the question or some of the terms you are using. I've been in the trade for 45+ years and I thought I understood quite a bit about code and I don't know what you are asking. Hope I'm not the only one. Maybe you could either elaborate or re-word the question or give us more details.

See Ya at the EAB meeting on the 3rd.


George Little

#203699 - 10/20/11 03:56 AM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
I was waiting for an explanation too. My guess is "static line" refers to the bare messenger and that is usually also the neutral but I could easily be wrong.

My experience looking at FPL is they use the grounded conductor on top for high voltage transmission lines and it is on the bottom for medium voltage distribution, below the 120/240.


Greg Fretwell

#203700 - 10/20/11 09:24 AM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
I sent Yoop a PM the day he posted this asking for some additional info. My thoughts went toward some type of 'mining' equipment.



John

#203712 - 10/20/11 02:13 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Michigan
Static Line : Definition
A Grounded wire at the Very top of the Pole intended to protect lower conductors from lighting.
Impedience Grounding is grounding thur a Neutral Ground Resister.(Limits fault current to ground) see 250.186.
My Question : Static line can it be used as a grounding conductor as 250.4 (A) 5 requires.
I Know it can't be used as a Neutral.But as a Ground??
Its refered as a Static line on the prints.
This apply to a 13.8 & a 4.16 over head & underground Customer owned Feeder.


#203715 - 10/20/11 03:29 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Yoop:

Some quick research brought this up...

250.184 Solidly Grounded Neutral Systems.
Solidly grounded neutral systems shall be permitted to be either single point grounded or multigrounded neutral.
""For systems over 1000 volts, the Code permits solidly grounded neutral systems that are either single-point grounded or multigrounded systems. For the 2005 Code, 250.184 was reorganized, and new requirements for the installation of single-point grounded systems were added. Circuits supplied from a single-point grounded system are required to have an equipment grounding conductor run with the circuit conductors, and this conductor is not to be used as a conductor for continuous line-to-neutral load.""

Text within the double quotes ("") is commentary from 2008 NEC Handbook.



John

#203717 - 10/20/11 05:31 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 822
Michigan
This is an Impedance grounded system not solidly grounded.
Yoopersup


#203718 - 10/20/11 06:05 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
I wouldn't dream of tapping into any conductor that is designed to ATTRACT lightning.

Sure, it'd work okay most of the time...

Then, blammo, lightning races across your grounding grid at the speed of light.



Tesla

#203719 - 10/20/11 07:04 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Tesla]  
ampherder  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
VA
Speed of light?


#203721 - 10/20/11 08:04 PM Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
The only reason I question that logic is FPL puts the ungrounded conductor on the top of the pole in MV distribution. (and this is Florida where we have a lot of lightning)


Greg Fretwell

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8200 MB (Peak: 0.9993 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 13:10:06 UTC