ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Static Line as Grounding conductor #203624
10/13/11 02:54 PM
10/13/11 02:54 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
Can a Static Line be used to Ground HV (4160 0r 13.8 Impedience grounded systems between buildings on poles??
I think your either required to have a Neutral or Grounding conductor.
Yoopersup

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203691
10/19/11 06:04 PM
10/19/11 06:04 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Ernie— I don't see anyone responding to your question and I think that possibly they don't understand the question or some of the terms you are using. I've been in the trade for 45+ years and I thought I understood quite a bit about code and I don't know what you are asking. Hope I'm not the only one. Maybe you could either elaborate or re-word the question or give us more details.

See Ya at the EAB meeting on the 3rd.


George Little
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203699
10/20/11 03:56 AM
10/20/11 03:56 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,252
Estero,Fl,usa
I was waiting for an explanation too. My guess is "static line" refers to the bare messenger and that is usually also the neutral but I could easily be wrong.

My experience looking at FPL is they use the grounded conductor on top for high voltage transmission lines and it is on the bottom for medium voltage distribution, below the 120/240.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203700
10/20/11 09:24 AM
10/20/11 09:24 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
I sent Yoop a PM the day he posted this asking for some additional info. My thoughts went toward some type of 'mining' equipment.



John
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203712
10/20/11 02:13 PM
10/20/11 02:13 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
Static Line : Definition
A Grounded wire at the Very top of the Pole intended to protect lower conductors from lighting.
Impedience Grounding is grounding thur a Neutral Ground Resister.(Limits fault current to ground) see 250.186.
My Question : Static line can it be used as a grounding conductor as 250.4 (A) 5 requires.
I Know it can't be used as a Neutral.But as a Ground??
Its refered as a Static line on the prints.
This apply to a 13.8 & a 4.16 over head & underground Customer owned Feeder.

Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203715
10/20/11 03:29 PM
10/20/11 03:29 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Yoop:

Some quick research brought this up...

250.184 Solidly Grounded Neutral Systems.
Solidly grounded neutral systems shall be permitted to be either single point grounded or multigrounded neutral.
""For systems over 1000 volts, the Code permits solidly grounded neutral systems that are either single-point grounded or multigrounded systems. For the 2005 Code, 250.184 was reorganized, and new requirements for the installation of single-point grounded systems were added. Circuits supplied from a single-point grounded system are required to have an equipment grounding conductor run with the circuit conductors, and this conductor is not to be used as a conductor for continuous line-to-neutral load.""

Text within the double quotes ("") is commentary from 2008 NEC Handbook.



John
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203717
10/20/11 05:31 PM
10/20/11 05:31 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
This is an Impedance grounded system not solidly grounded.
Yoopersup

Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203718
10/20/11 06:05 PM
10/20/11 06:05 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
I wouldn't dream of tapping into any conductor that is designed to ATTRACT lightning.

Sure, it'd work okay most of the time...

Then, blammo, lightning races across your grounding grid at the speed of light.



Tesla
Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Tesla] #203719
10/20/11 07:04 PM
10/20/11 07:04 PM
A
ampherder  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
VA
Speed of light?

Re: Static Line as Grounding conductor [Re: Yoopersup] #203721
10/20/11 08:04 PM
10/20/11 08:04 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,252
Estero,Fl,usa
The only reason I question that logic is FPL puts the ungrounded conductor on the top of the pole in MV distribution. (and this is Florida where we have a lot of lightning)


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,618 Are you busy
186,361 Re: Forum
175,819 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0259 MB (Peak: 1.2071 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-19 05:37:31 UTC