ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/02/20 02:38 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 04:11 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:51 AM
What does your work place look like?
by Trumpy - 12/02/20 03:42 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
how to by pass?? #201295 05/26/11 12:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Niko Offline OP
Member
I am working with a portable AC unit that needs to keep a small computer room cool.
If the power goes out to the building the AC will shutoff and won't comeback ON automatically.

My question is: can i bypass (jumper) the main ON/OFF switch so once the power turns back ON the AC will do as well.

Or is there a better solution?

The cost of a single central AC just for that room is way too expensive for this small start up company.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201297 05/26/11 02:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
Is the on/off switch a momentary switch? If not, then leaving the switch in the on position should restart the unit when power returns.

Aside from the technical issues, do you really want to modify the equipment? I would think the LIABILITY INSURANCE would be rather significant if something did not go well.

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: LarryC] #201298 05/26/11 04:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Niko Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by LarryC
Is the on/off switch a momentary switch? If not, then leaving the switch in the on position should restart the unit when power returns.

Aside from the technical issues, do you really want to modify the equipment? I would think the LIABILITY INSURANCE would be rather significant if something did not go well.


The switch is a momentary.



Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201299 05/26/11 06:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
L
LarryC Offline
Member
Contact the manufacturer. There may be some sort of user menu where you can set the machine to start up after a restoration of power. The same idea but different application, as the sleep timer on a TV set.

Can the A/C be connected to a home automation system? If so, perhaps the connection point allows remote operation.

Does the A/C unit use a remote control? Perhaps the remote could be hacked?

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201300 05/26/11 08:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,547
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I think Larry's first response is the only real answer for you. See what the manufacturer says. You really want to be using the approved solution. I am sure you can jumper something out to make it go but that might be outside the scope of your insurance.


Greg Fretwell
Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201302 05/26/11 11:06 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 359
M
mbhydro Offline
Member
Small UPS depending on how long the power is going to be off?

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201303 05/27/11 12:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
jdevlin Offline
Member
Actually being a AC it need a large UPS.
Contact the manufacturer and see if they make an 'auto restart' kit.

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201304 05/27/11 02:48 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Niko Offline OP
Member
I contacted the manufacturer they could not help me. The unit doesn't have an auto ON function. I think i will push them to go to a small central AC unit just for that room.

Too bad the building owner doesn't allow a wall mounted unit.

Thank you all for your replies.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201309 05/27/11 08:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Are you samiliar with what is called a 'mini-split' system?

Re: how to by pass?? [Re: Niko] #201310 05/27/11 12:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,218
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Niko:
You said a 'small computer room'?

Is that room a 'IT' classified room? (Article 645)

I suggest that you check into that Article. As you said a 'small start-up' company, but your building dept may have issues with that 'room'.

It all depnds on what it is 'called' and by whom.

A seperate system works in an 'IT' room by Art 645, but there qre other requirements.



John
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 20
Popular Topics(Views)
272,206 Are you busy
206,090 Re: Forum
194,096 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3