ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by HotLine1. 11/15/18 02:32 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
se2 Phase #200680
04/13/11 11:12 PM
04/13/11 11:12 PM
Obsaleet  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Had my first dealings with 2 phase. Was disconnecting a machine and wanting make sure all the leads are identified, I started going over everything. At first I thought the 4 pole disconnect may have had a nutreal being disconnected. But wait there is no 110v on this machine. readings to ground were all over, and there was 2 sets of 240v. Aaaa wow! 2 phase. I thought it was a urban legend! Sure as could be a 3 phase to 2 phase 50kw trans. What I have learned to be a Scot Trans. comments welcome:)

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200690
04/14/11 08:17 AM
04/14/11 08:17 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,038
Brick, NJ USA
The only and last place I saw 2 phas was in Philadelphia, many, many years ago. Working with one of the 'old timers', and I don't remember much of it today.



John
Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200715
04/16/11 01:14 PM
04/16/11 01:14 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
John,

The strangest voltage system I ever saw was in Jersey City. There were 3 phase legs going to a machine. You got 240 volts between each phase leg. On 2 of the phase legs you got 120 volt and on the third leg you got zero voltage to ground. There was no neutral for these machines. I was told that it was a very old style system.

Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200717
04/16/11 01:22 PM
04/16/11 01:22 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
I thought that true 2 phase was there were 2 phase legs and 2 neutrals. 1 neutral for each phase leg.

Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200720
04/16/11 01:55 PM
04/16/11 01:55 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,301
Estero,Fl,usa
Harold, are you sure that wasn't 240v to ground on the other 2 legs?

That would be corner grounded delta.


Greg Fretwell
Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200722
04/16/11 06:07 PM
04/16/11 06:07 PM
Obsaleet  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Harold,
Thats about right, except voltage to ground was more like 135v, 120v, 180v, 0v. approx voltages? I got on the phone asap when I knew I wasn't in Kansas anymore.



Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.
Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200738
04/17/11 01:18 PM
04/17/11 01:18 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Greg,

No, I believe it was 120-125 volts to ground and 240 between legs. The 3rd leg was zero volts to ground. Even my old boss found this wiring system to be real weird. He used to work for Bendix and they made airplane parts here in NJ. They use to work with all sorts of wacky voltage and freq. in their factory. They even had one system that was 400 Mz I believe. It was for satellites or something.

Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200739
04/17/11 01:21 PM
04/17/11 01:21 PM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Ob,

As I said to Greg, I believe it was around 125 volts. It as many years ago and my memory isn't what it used to be. I just started as an apprentice with the old boss, so that would have been around 1977. Plus I only saw this type of system once in all the years I have been doing electrical work. I was more a resi-com type of electric, not much into heavy industrial.

Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200742
04/17/11 02:02 PM
04/17/11 02:02 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,301
Estero,Fl,usa
I am not sure how you can have 240 volts from phase to phase, one phase that looks be grounded and not have 240 to ground. It may be impedance grounding on that corner and a low impedance measuring tool (wiggy?)


Greg Fretwell
Re: se2 Phase [Re: Obsaleet] #200763
04/18/11 09:16 AM
04/18/11 09:16 AM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
Greg,

Like I said, it was a long time ago. I maybe mistaken. If I see my old boss again, I will ask him if he remembers. He still works around here but not as much as he used to.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,485 Are you busy
188,674 Re: Forum
178,376 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.041s Queries: 16 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0247 MB (Peak: 1.2061 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-15 23:36:57 UTC