ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 28 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Splice in service disconnect #200399
03/30/11 08:33 PM
03/30/11 08:33 PM
S
SJT  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
PATCHOGUE, N.Y.
A 400amp main disconnect will need to be added outside a Building. Existing is a 400 amp main circuit breaker panel in the utility room. The Arc flash rating turned out to be a Cat. 4 for the Panel.(you have to wear a space suit) so by installing a Disconnect between the Panel and the transformer, the engineer says it will go to a category 2. This is fed from a pad mount transformer with the metering mounted on the outside. Can the feeders from the transformer be spliced in the disconnect if not long enough, to go to the line side of the switch? Or will we have to install a 2'x2' junction box. Existing, is the 4" LB going to the back of the Main Panel.
Sorry about the long story - Thanks, SJT

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Splice in service disconnect [Re: SJT] #200401
03/30/11 10:29 PM
03/30/11 10:29 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
IMHO, run this past the local AHJ first. Also you may have to run it by the local POCO. 'Line' side may be POCO jurisdiction. Using barrel crimps should be acceptable.



John
Re: Splice in service disconnect [Re: SJT] #200432
04/01/11 10:06 AM
04/01/11 10:06 AM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
I'm sorry I only have my 2008 NEC with me, ( we are still on that code) but would 230.33 be of use in this case?

Re: Splice in service disconnect [Re: SJT] #200437
04/01/11 11:03 AM
04/01/11 11:03 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,024
Brick, NJ USA
harold:
230.33 refers you to 110.14 regarding splicing methodology, and refers to 300.xx articles which I understand are not applicable in the OP.

I mentioned the local POCO, and AHJ for a few reasons. Here (PS) crimp splices are acceptable on a case by case basis, as they are by me, and most other AHJs. Extending an existing lateral feeder to terminate at the line side of a disconnect switch, in lieu of replacement of that feeder can be acceptable. Crimp splice; feeder in acceptable condition, and sufficient 'space' within the disco.



John
Re: Splice in service disconnect [Re: SJT] #200464
04/02/11 01:19 PM
04/02/11 01:19 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,290
Estero,Fl,usa
I only had the "splice in the disco" come up once and I agreed to the irreversible crimp splice, simply because any alternative was very burdensome on the installer and I did not see any particular hazard. We were literally talking about a foot of wire.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Splice in service disconnect [Re: SJT] #200468
04/02/11 01:33 PM
04/02/11 01:33 PM
S
SJT  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
PATCHOGUE, N.Y.
Thanks for the inputs,
I think I'll go with the barrel crimps, if the wires are not long enough.
SJT


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RH1
RH1
California
Posts: 22
Joined: August 2009
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,419 Are you busy
187,341 Re: Forum
176,681 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9775 MB (Peak: 1.1246 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-24 05:43:09 UTC