ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by luckyshadow. 12/04/17 06:08 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,991 Are you busy
179,385 Re: Forum
170,352 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#199979 - 03/16/11 09:30 AM Re; Electrical enclosure  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
We have all seen those stainless steel (SS) electrical enclosures by traffic lights and outdoor lighting. Usually there is at least 1 or more pipes feeding into them. Now inside the pipe you have a 200 amp feeder enter and leave the SS enclosure, tap off a 60-100 amp line, go to a small 4-6 circuit panel.
Some questions,
1) Do you need a main on the small circuit panel?
2) Can you have open splice/tap or does that have to be enclosed in a box/through?
3) When the wires leave the feeder conduit, can they just run freely or be sleeved into a through where the tap will be made?

I hope I made myself clear, I have a friend ask me these questions.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#199994 - 03/16/11 07:06 PM Re: Re; Electrical enclosure [Re: harold endean]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,877
Brick, NJ USA
Harold:

All that I have seen doing inspections are:

2" RGC w/service into PS meter pan
Nipple to 60/100 amp CB panel with 60/100 amp main CB
1-20 amp for the token 20 amp, 120 volt GFI receptacle.
and via 1" RGC from this enclosure to the controller.
1-20/30 amp, 2 pole that feeds controller cabinet.

To my understanding, my responsibility stops at the feeder to the control cabinet.

The above is for Township traffic signals only, not DOT.

We have that type of enclosure for various Twp needs, all have PS meters, a few have 2 circuit panels w/o mains for 120 volt receptacles.



John

#200003 - 03/16/11 09:43 PM Re: Re; Electrical enclosure [Re: harold endean]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,877
Brick, NJ USA
Harold:
I neglected to include...
Grounding/bonding bushings on all conduits, 1 rod are 'standard' spec & installed.

I have an enclosure similar to a traffic light box that is used for a pedestrian crossing system. That was one royal mess of control wiring. I have to look if I still have the pics. The service (meter & panel) was inspected and passed; I went back for a 'Final' & that's when the mess turned up. It took two shots to make it compliant. They installed Panduit to secure/support/contain the LV-control.



John

#200038 - 03/18/11 09:15 AM Re: Re; Electrical enclosure [Re: harold endean]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
John,

I have seen that type of install before. This one is a large tree farm. The main building is about a mile in from the street (Or it seems like a long distance). The POCO is bringing in HV cable to a transformer. Then from the main building back to the street, they are bringing a 200 amp feeder to 3-4 SS enclosures for pole lighting, auto gates, 120 recpt. etc. So the EC wants to run his feeder back down the road, go in and out of SS enclosures. Then in each SS box, tap the feeder, and go to a 6-12 circuit sub panel. Which will provide for misc. equipment.

My thought to him at the SS box was to enclose tap inside a small through, then nipple up to sub panel. This way, no open splices and there would be a main on sub panel to protect the tap.

His reply was that inside a SS box, open conductors would be allowed. He said that the whole enclosure would be rated for splices and open conductors. I can agree with him, but I think it would be safer my way. I know that "My way" does not mean the right way and as long as it passes the NEC it should be allowed.


#200042 - 03/18/11 09:49 AM Re: Re; Electrical enclosure [Re: harold endean]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,877
Brick, NJ USA
Harold:
I would ask the EC for the mfg cut sheet/spec for the enclosure as a CYA.

Personally, I don't see any issue with what is proposed. Your way, IMHO is a more professional way. Consider also, the interior space within the enclosure relating to a wireway, etc.



John

#200048 - 03/18/11 12:46 PM Re: Re; Electrical enclosure [Re: harold endean]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
John,

I think the cut sheet would just say it is listed as an enclosure. My thought of using the through inside the enclosure is that there is less chance of anyone going back in there and messing with the tap. It will also protect the tap wires since they too would be enclosed.



Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7794 MB (Peak: 0.9257 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-11 07:46:43 UTC