ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Pull out fuse panel?
by Trumpy. 12/06/18 02:12 AM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 43 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville #199598
03/02/11 01:13 PM
03/02/11 01:13 PM
E
electech  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 113
Northern Il

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199601
03/02/11 01:53 PM
03/02/11 01:53 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199607
03/02/11 06:53 PM
03/02/11 06:53 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Hey the door goes up and down don't it? :-{

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: EV607797] #199610
03/02/11 07:52 PM
03/02/11 07:52 PM
T
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,436
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted by EV607797
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!

I beg to differ!
I'm pretty sure tacking NM to the fence was much faster than digging for UF or even pulling a proper overhead connection, and making flying splices tp plugs certainly saves on materials - no box needed, no receptacle, just an old plug, perhaps cut off some surplus cord or broken piece of electronics and some cheap tape. And wrapping wires around plug pins (which is what the splice in the garage looks like to me, I think you can see the outline of a NEMA 5-15 plug under that tape) is probably faster than nailing up a box and wiring a receptacle too.

So, yes, it's a terrible and scary hack job, but it probably was a lot faster and cheaper than doing it right.

BTW, our garden shed was wired by running an extension cord out between two courses of roof tiles, down the roof, along the fence (blocking the gate) and through a hole in the wall of the shed... at first we didn't even notice that because the whole run was overgrown with ivy.

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: Texas_Ranger] #199621
03/02/11 09:25 PM
03/02/11 09:25 PM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
you could be a redneck if....

~S~

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199623
03/02/11 09:32 PM
03/02/11 09:32 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,323
Estero,Fl,usa
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199628
03/02/11 10:22 PM
03/02/11 10:22 PM
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Wonder what the voltage drop on this is?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199632
03/03/11 04:11 AM
03/03/11 04:11 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Curious that a fairly new-looking garage wouldn't have electrical service... I'll bet the permit chain on that one is impervious. I'm assuming that this guy didn't make an offer on the house.

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199675
03/04/11 10:06 AM
03/04/11 10:06 AM
H
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
All I can say is OMG!

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: gfretwell] #199677
03/04/11 10:18 AM
03/04/11 10:18 AM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


lol Greg

but he's gotpotential!........(bad electrical pun intended)


Just did up a similar job, insurance company looked at this building full of similar hanging spaghetti , and demanded it all properly secured


i had a minor bout of if's, and's & butts about how NONE of it is right in the first place, to no avail....


seems i'm always a few steps behind this guy here>

[Linked Image]

~S~


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,171 Are you busy
189,159 Re: Forum
178,835 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.038s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 1.0128 MB (Peak: 1.1946 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-12 19:40:16 UTC