ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by HotLine1 - 03/02/21 02:14 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 33 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville #199598 03/02/11 01:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 114
E
electech Offline OP
Member

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199601 03/02/11 01:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199607 03/02/11 06:53 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
Hey the door goes up and down don't it? :-{

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: EV607797] #199610 03/02/11 07:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,491
T
Texas_Ranger Offline
Member
Originally Posted by EV607797
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!

I beg to differ!
I'm pretty sure tacking NM to the fence was much faster than digging for UF or even pulling a proper overhead connection, and making flying splices tp plugs certainly saves on materials - no box needed, no receptacle, just an old plug, perhaps cut off some surplus cord or broken piece of electronics and some cheap tape. And wrapping wires around plug pins (which is what the splice in the garage looks like to me, I think you can see the outline of a NEMA 5-15 plug under that tape) is probably faster than nailing up a box and wiring a receptacle too.

So, yes, it's a terrible and scary hack job, but it probably was a lot faster and cheaper than doing it right.

BTW, our garden shed was wired by running an extension cord out between two courses of roof tiles, down the roof, along the fence (blocking the gate) and through a hole in the wall of the shed... at first we didn't even notice that because the whole run was overgrown with ivy.

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: Texas_Ranger] #199621 03/02/11 09:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
you could be a redneck if....

~S~

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199623 03/02/11 09:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


Greg Fretwell
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199628 03/02/11 10:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Obsaleet Offline
Member
Wonder what the voltage drop on this is?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.
Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199632 03/03/11 04:11 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Curious that a fairly new-looking garage wouldn't have electrical service... I'll bet the permit chain on that one is impervious. I'm assuming that this guy didn't make an offer on the house.

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech] #199675 03/04/11 10:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
H
harold endean Offline
Member
All I can say is OMG!

Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: gfretwell] #199677 03/04/11 10:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


lol Greg

but he's gotpotential!........(bad electrical pun intended)


Just did up a similar job, insurance company looked at this building full of similar hanging spaghetti , and demanded it all properly secured


i had a minor bout of if's, and's & butts about how NONE of it is right in the first place, to no avail....


seems i'm always a few steps behind this guy here>

[Linked Image from 2.bp.blogspot.com]

~S~


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,437
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,551 Are you busy
209,467 Re: Forum
196,852 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3