ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Question on power to 4 Nema 6-50 & 5 Nema 5-15.
by TrickedoutTech. 10/23/17 07:37 PM
300 watt transformer
by watersparkfalls. 10/23/17 05:23 PM
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/22/17 07:52 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,467 Are you busy
177,469 Re: Forum
169,034 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (ramsy), 25 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#199598 - 03/02/11 02:13 PM How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville  
electech  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 113
Northern Il


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#199601 - 03/02/11 02:53 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#199607 - 03/02/11 07:53 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Hey the door goes up and down don't it? :-{


#199610 - 03/02/11 08:52 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: EV607797]  
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,402
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted by EV607797
I swear that it looks as if they spent more time doing it wrong than it would have taken to do it right. What a mess!

I beg to differ!
I'm pretty sure tacking NM to the fence was much faster than digging for UF or even pulling a proper overhead connection, and making flying splices tp plugs certainly saves on materials - no box needed, no receptacle, just an old plug, perhaps cut off some surplus cord or broken piece of electronics and some cheap tape. And wrapping wires around plug pins (which is what the splice in the garage looks like to me, I think you can see the outline of a NEMA 5-15 plug under that tape) is probably faster than nailing up a box and wiring a receptacle too.

So, yes, it's a terrible and scary hack job, but it probably was a lot faster and cheaper than doing it right.

BTW, our garden shed was wired by running an extension cord out between two courses of roof tiles, down the roof, along the fence (blocking the gate) and through a hole in the wall of the shed... at first we didn't even notice that because the whole run was overgrown with ivy.


#199621 - 03/02/11 10:25 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: Texas_Ranger]  
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,311
you could be a redneck if....

~S~


#199623 - 03/02/11 10:32 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
gfretwell  Online Content


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,124
Estero,Fl,usa
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


Greg Fretwell

#199628 - 03/02/11 11:22 PM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
Obsaleet  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 362
Pa
Wonder what the voltage drop on this is?

Ob


Choose your customers, don't let them choose you.

#199632 - 03/03/11 05:11 AM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Curious that a fairly new-looking garage wouldn't have electrical service... I'll bet the permit chain on that one is impervious. I'm assuming that this guy didn't make an offer on the house.


#199675 - 03/04/11 11:06 AM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: electech]  
harold endean  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,233
Boonton, NJ
All I can say is OMG!


#199677 - 03/04/11 11:18 AM Re: How to wire two garage door openers in Hackville [Re: gfretwell]  
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,311
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Nahh A real redneck would have run the RX all the way and stuck the stripped conductors into the receptacle. There would be no surge strip and the splice (between both G/D cords and the RX) would be wrapped with "camo" duct tape.
That was a city boy.


lol Greg

but he's gotpotential!........(bad electrical pun intended)


Just did up a similar job, insurance company looked at this building full of similar hanging spaghetti , and demanded it all properly secured


i had a minor bout of if's, and's & butts about how NONE of it is right in the first place, to no avail....


seems i'm always a few steps behind this guy here>

[Linked Image]

~S~



Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8124 MB (Peak: 0.9937 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-24 02:13:27 UTC