ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 11 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Splicing cables in cable tray? #197797
12/20/10 06:55 PM
12/20/10 06:55 PM
H
Helectric  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Brandon, SD
According to 392.8-A of the 2008 NEC, I'm allowed to splice cables in a cable tray as long as they are "made and insulated by approve methods. Does anyone have an opinion on what constitutes an approved method? I realize that the code's defanition of approved is "acceptable to the authority having juristiction" but am looking for opinions on best practices.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric] #197804
12/20/10 09:00 PM
12/20/10 09:00 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,973
Brick, NJ USA
Basically, a crimp splice, insulated as required.


John
Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: HotLine1] #197807
12/20/10 09:15 PM
12/20/10 09:15 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
I'd think an Ilsco 'mechanical' compression lug/splice barrel would be the ticket.



Tesla
Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Tesla] #197811
12/21/10 10:42 AM
12/21/10 10:42 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,973
Brick, NJ USA
OK, the 'Polaris' type blocks would work also.


John
Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric] #198881
02/06/11 10:23 PM
02/06/11 10:23 PM
N
nercGerald  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
North Pole, Alaska
We used Raychem splice kits up north (Prudhoe Bay) and on the pipeline. 3M is another good one. I have in a bind used split bolt connectors with rubber tape and Scotch 88 over that with a sealer over that, but they were never inspected by an inspector. The kits are better.

Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric] #199050
02/11/11 11:04 PM
02/11/11 11:04 PM
P
PAteenlectrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
Welcome

Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric] #199055
02/12/11 12:57 AM
02/12/11 12:57 AM
G
gl53  Offline
New Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Texas
As a personal practice I use crimp type devices over wire nuts, split bolts or terminal lugs. Connection blocks need a large amout of space in my opinion to make room for servicing the connection in the future. If there is an isue of multiple splices I would the use a termination box. Last, an approved splice replaces the insulation charactoristics of the cable. Not only voltage, but temperature and environmental protection. A double layer of half lap rubber followed by a double layer of half lap 33 covers a large percentage of insulation types.

Having Fun
-Gary

Re: Splicing cables in cable tray? [Re: Helectric] #199085
02/13/11 01:34 AM
02/13/11 01:34 AM
P
PAteenlectrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 64
Cressona, Pa, U.S.A. (Schuylki...
What about twist-tin-tape?


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,618 Are you busy
184,962 Re: Forum
174,203 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9937 MB (Peak: 1.1585 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-20 20:36:52 UTC