ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/15/18 11:32 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 25 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
power line MUST be 30 cm up #197707
12/15/10 03:30 PM
12/15/10 03:30 PM
J
jgoedderz  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Group,

After the installation of a new product in Italy, we are being told that there is a technical detail that appears not in line with the official recommendation of the European Community.

The power line MUST be located at a minimum of 30 cm up from the floor.

Can anyone provide substantiation of the 30mm claim?

Providing the source would also be a big plus.

Thank you.

James Goedderz
Product Safety Engineer
Tyco/Sensormatic
jgoedderz@tycoint.com

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: jgoedderz] #197710
12/15/10 05:32 PM
12/15/10 05:32 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Sorry I can't answer that but you just mixed base units 30cm and 30mm
Maybe a bit more info from you too. What power line? the wiring to the receptacle? The receptacle? the cord to the product? All locations, residential , commercial, or Industrial?

Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: mikesh] #197713
12/15/10 07:26 PM
12/15/10 07:26 PM
J
jgoedderz  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Some additional information.

The product is conduit connected, and the concern is the internal hook up terminal block.

We did consider that this might be Italy only, but the notice included the reference to “the official recommendation of the European Community”.

There does appear to be an exception for products that are resistant to water ingress. Ours it not.

The number is 30cm. Commercial environment.

Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: jgoedderz] #197717
12/15/10 09:58 PM
12/15/10 09:58 PM
L
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
I can not give you a specification but I do remember from about 10 years ago, a product we manufactured was modified for use in Germany. One of the requirements was to move the power supply wiring up off of the floor by about a foot. We ended up moving the power components into another free standing cabinet. Our product was electromechanical inspection equipment. Check under the Laboratory equipment standards.

Check out EN61010 and EN60204.

Larry

Last edited by LarryC; 12/15/10 10:04 PM. Reason: found standards numbers

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Admin
Admin
NY, USA
Posts: 3,516
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
249,289 Are you busy
187,226 Re: Forum
176,587 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9600 MB (Peak: 1.0952 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-19 21:23:05 UTC