ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 5
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:13 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by ghost307. 12/15/17 08:09 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,061 Are you busy
179,499 Re: Forum
170,421 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#197707 - 12/15/10 02:30 PM power line MUST be 30 cm up  
jgoedderz  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Group,

After the installation of a new product in Italy, we are being told that there is a technical detail that appears not in line with the official recommendation of the European Community.

The power line MUST be located at a minimum of 30 cm up from the floor.

Can anyone provide substantiation of the 30mm claim?

Providing the source would also be a big plus.

Thank you.

James Goedderz
Product Safety Engineer
Tyco/Sensormatic
jgoedderz@tycoint.com


Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement

#197710 - 12/15/10 04:32 PM Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: jgoedderz]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Sorry I can't answer that but you just mixed base units 30cm and 30mm
Maybe a bit more info from you too. What power line? the wiring to the receptacle? The receptacle? the cord to the product? All locations, residential , commercial, or Industrial?


#197713 - 12/15/10 06:26 PM Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: mikesh]  
jgoedderz  Offline
New Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 2
Boca Raton, FL, USA
Some additional information.

The product is conduit connected, and the concern is the internal hook up terminal block.

We did consider that this might be Italy only, but the notice included the reference to “the official recommendation of the European Community”.

There does appear to be an exception for products that are resistant to water ingress. Ours it not.

The number is 30cm. Commercial environment.


#197717 - 12/15/10 08:58 PM Re: power line MUST be 30 cm up [Re: jgoedderz]  
LarryC  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 783
Winchester, NH, US
I can not give you a specification but I do remember from about 10 years ago, a product we manufactured was modified for use in Germany. One of the requirements was to move the power supply wiring up off of the floor by about a foot. We ended up moving the power components into another free standing cabinet. Our product was electromechanical inspection equipment. Check under the Laboratory equipment standards.

Check out EN61010 and EN60204.

Larry

Last edited by LarryC; 12/15/10 09:04 PM. Reason: found standards numbers


Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.011s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7608 MB (Peak: 0.8951 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-15 21:26:03 UTC