ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
I got the new NEC book. Try to find where in the book contains the provisions regarding two-prong electric outlets in old houses (prior to 1960s).

If the houses are not upgraded and outlets remain the same as the before (two-prongs), any mandates require the upgrades or changes to meet today's electric code.

Any easiest way to do so without rewiring the entire house that seems impossible or cost prohibitive? replace two prongs with GFCI outlet on every signle one?

City requires that all electric outlet must be Either grounded, two-prongs or GFCI. Any ideas?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
GFCI breakers may be the cheapest solution. Your electrician can make a real assessment.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,279
Likes: 3
Member
Depending on local codes (stress dependent) an upgrade may be necessary.

Pure NEC enforcement (Based on NJ UCC laws) I (AHJ) cannot mandate replacement. However, those that are replaced must comply with the adopted NEC, as amended with the NJ UCC Electrical Subcode. There are still non-ground receptacles on many shelves.

Consult with an area lic. electrical contractor for your local requirements.


John
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
Hi John,

Thanks for replying. I did not change a few 2 prongs outlet to Leviton GFCIs without grounding wiring connected as there are none ground wires in the boxes.

Wiring is correct: Hot-black and neutral-white on the "Line" end.

But GFCI outlets cannot be "TESTed" or "RESET" with the two buttons on the GFCI outlets. The GFCI outlets are providing electricity and and green light indicators are on. A handheld wiring tester shows that the outlets are "Open Ground" (as there are not ground wires in the boxes) and cannot be reset as well.

Is it ok? Thanks for advise!


Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
They should trip with test. This does not use the grounding conductor.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
Thanks Greg! Leviton told me the same, that its GFCI does not have to use the grounding wire. I do not know why it does not trip as the wiring is simple. An electrician told me that because there is not enough current draining out the circurt when "TESTing" without grounding conductor, it may not trip when pusting the TEST button or using a GFCI handheld tester, but it will provide protection needed in a situation of Ground Fault. Please advise. Thanks,
Hal

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
Thanks Greg! Leviton told me the same, that its GFCI does not have to use the grounding wire. I do not know why it does not trip/interrupt as the wiring is simple.

An electrician explained that because there is not enough current draining out the circurt without grounding conductor when "TESTing" to trip or interrupt when pushing the TEST button or using a GFCI handheld tester, it will provide protection needed in a situation of Ground Fault. Please advise. Thanks so much,
Hal

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,663
Likes: 4
G
Member
The GFCI works by comparing the current it the white to the current in the black. If more is going out than comes back in they assume a ground fault. The test is just a resistor in the device that causes an artificial imbalance in that transformer, using the line and neutral. The ground is not involved.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
Thanks for your explanation that makes a good sense. Is it possible that the GFCI I bought have a defact? Thanks

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
L
New Member
If without grounding conductor in this case, should an outlet tester also indicate the GFCI outlet has OPEN GROUND, or is not CORRECT (two green light indicators on the tester)?

Appreciate so much for your help and sharing your knowledge.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,279
Joined: April 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,090 Are you busy
216,819 Re: Forum
203,190 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5