ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
U
Hi all, my first post, so I hope it is in the right place!

I am a UK-based electrician with the following problem:
one of my customers has imported a double Maytag oven from the USA to use here in the UK.

He has asked me to connect it up, and not being familiar with the US wiring system, I am confused by the fact that I have 4 wires; red, black, white, and bare copper.

The bare copper is obviously the earth wire as I can see where it is secured to the casing, but other than that I am lost. The only wiring diagram supplied shows how to connect to a 3 wire or 4 wire system, but these are obviously US based.

I have contacted the manufacturer in the US, who refuse to help because the item has been exported, and their counterpart in the UK has taken the same attitude because it is an import, so no joy there.

I can only guess that I am also going to have to supply and wire in a 100V transformer (around 8kW probably, as oven is 7.2kW), but other than that any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for any pointers.

G
The US system used in houses has 3 wires with 180 electrical degrees between them. Black and red are hot, and the white is a neutral conductor that gets connected to earth ONLY where the mains first come into the house.