ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 19 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Contactor in a pull box #195248
07/21/10 09:42 PM
07/21/10 09:42 PM
W
wewire2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
California
Is there a code provision that prevents the use of a 3R pullbox to enclose a 480V. 3 pole contactor? I need to order this ASAP and can't find anything on it.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: wewire2] #195249
07/21/10 09:57 PM
07/21/10 09:57 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 842
Michigan
Is this being used also as a pull box?? Or just a 3 R junction box being used to enclose the Contactor?? If its the latter then I;d say its done all the time.

Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: Yoopersup] #195255
07/22/10 08:57 AM
07/22/10 08:57 AM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I've done it as a mater of routine .... but some folks have run into issues with their AHJ - who wants a hinged door.

IMO, there's no code issue, and trying to apply 'listing and labeling' is quite a stretch. Heck, I've even had folks object to cutting holes in the boxes, rather than using the factory KO's. Go figure.

Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: renosteinke] #195257
07/22/10 09:25 AM
07/22/10 09:25 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,986
Brick, NJ USA
As Reno said, it's routine. Contactors/relays in NEMA1 are also routine (in compliant locations) as using any other enclosure.

Could the issue be the 'opinion' that the complete assembly is not 'listed/labeled'? Or could there be an issue with conductor volume, or bend radius?



John
Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: HotLine1] #195261
07/22/10 05:31 PM
07/22/10 05:31 PM
W
wewire2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
California
It's just that I had an inspector in the LA area tell me I couldn't enclose a contactor in a pull box because the box wasn't listed for that use. It was a long time ago and I never did find the code section. I guess it doesn't exist.
Thanks for the help!

Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: wewire2] #195265
07/22/10 10:59 PM
07/22/10 10:59 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,986
Brick, NJ USA
OK, try this scenario...

Enclosure has a UL label/listing as a pull or junction box, based on the UL White Book? If that is/was the case then by the 'book' he's technically correct.

Did the enclosure you used have a backplate? Mounting studs?

Did you have a Sq D (or other mfg) that has a 'factory' enclosure in their catalog?

From your last post, sounds like that AHJ may have had a UL White Book with him


John
Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: HotLine1] #195269
07/23/10 12:32 AM
07/23/10 12:32 AM
W
wewire2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
California
It was just a regular pull box with the contactor mounted using tech screws. I see what you're getting at though. If there is a specific box made for that contactor then it seems
reasonable that the inspector would want the approved box to be used. In this case I'm looking at a 5 day lead time if I want it in a specialized contactor box. Uhggg!!

Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: wewire2] #195277
07/23/10 09:23 AM
07/23/10 09:23 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,986
Brick, NJ USA
We:

"mounted using tech screws" ??

That could have been a factor.


John
Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: HotLine1] #195280
07/23/10 03:06 PM
07/23/10 03:06 PM
W
wewire2  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
California
I have one of those Greenlee tap kits now. Boy those are sure nice with the all in one drill and tap.

Re: Contactor in a pull box [Re: wewire2] #195281
07/23/10 03:57 PM
07/23/10 03:57 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,242
Estero,Fl,usa
What is the code issue with tek screws?


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,158 Are you busy
185,630 Re: Forum
174,996 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.025s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0263 MB (Peak: 1.2085 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-22 10:39:06 UTC