ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Recent Posts
Chinese motors rated 220 v 50 hertz
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 04:45 PM
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:12 AM
100 Definitions, Likely to Become Energized, 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:08 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Advertisement:-Left
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 211 guests, and 32 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#195248 07/21/10 09:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Is there a code provision that prevents the use of a 3R pullbox to enclose a 480V. 3 pole contactor? I need to order this ASAP and can't find anything on it.

Horizontal Ad
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Is this being used also as a pull box?? Or just a 3 R junction box being used to enclose the Contactor?? If its the latter then I;d say its done all the time.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,462
Likes: 3
Cat Servant
Member
I've done it as a mater of routine .... but some folks have run into issues with their AHJ - who wants a hinged door.

IMO, there's no code issue, and trying to apply 'listing and labeling' is quite a stretch. Heck, I've even had folks object to cutting holes in the boxes, rather than using the factory KO's. Go figure.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,390
Likes: 7
Member
As Reno said, it's routine. Contactors/relays in NEMA1 are also routine (in compliant locations) as using any other enclosure.

Could the issue be the 'opinion' that the complete assembly is not 'listed/labeled'? Or could there be an issue with conductor volume, or bend radius?



John
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
It's just that I had an inspector in the LA area tell me I couldn't enclose a contactor in a pull box because the box wasn't listed for that use. It was a long time ago and I never did find the code section. I guess it doesn't exist.
Thanks for the help!

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,390
Likes: 7
Member
OK, try this scenario...

Enclosure has a UL label/listing as a pull or junction box, based on the UL White Book? If that is/was the case then by the 'book' he's technically correct.

Did the enclosure you used have a backplate? Mounting studs?

Did you have a Sq D (or other mfg) that has a 'factory' enclosure in their catalog?

From your last post, sounds like that AHJ may have had a UL White Book with him


John
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
It was just a regular pull box with the contactor mounted using tech screws. I see what you're getting at though. If there is a specific box made for that contactor then it seems
reasonable that the inspector would want the approved box to be used. In this case I'm looking at a 5 day lead time if I want it in a specialized contactor box. Uhggg!!

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,390
Likes: 7
Member
We:

"mounted using tech screws" ??

That could have been a factor.


John
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
I have one of those Greenlee tap kits now. Boy those are sure nice with the all in one drill and tap.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,959
Likes: 34
G
Member
What is the code issue with tek screws?


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertisement:-Right

* * * * * * *
Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 
* * * * * * *

2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
323,572 Are you busy
247,890 Re: Forum
231,670 Need opinion
New Page 2
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5