ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,882 Are you busy
175,459 Re: Forum
167,732 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 37 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#195178 - 07/15/10 02:00 AM 15 amp circuits commercial?  
watersparkfalls  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 216
Washington...Not DC
I am looking at a plan for an auto parts store, it calls for lighting to be 20A ckts and gen outlets to be 15A, along with exhaust fans, printer ckt. Isn't there a code requiring all commercial lighting and plugs ckts to be 20 Amps? Or is that just how I've always done it?
Thanks guys,
H20

Last edited by watersparkfalls; 07/15/10 02:00 AM.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#195182 - 07/15/10 03:03 PM Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: watersparkfalls]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
H2O:
There are no NEC requirements for 'general purpose' comm receptacles, spacing or ampacity.

However, you may have something in your local codes. Otherwise this is a design issue.

Now, talking about what I call "normal trade practices" comm work would be all #12 & 20 amp circuits; that's how I did it, but that's not NEC for GP circuits.



John

#195184 - 07/15/10 05:47 PM Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: HotLine1]  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
I would add to what John has said that using 15a. circuits for receptacles you will be looking at no more than 10 receptacles on a circuit (assume non-continuous), continuous load would only allow 8 receptacles on a 15a. circuit.


George Little

#195214 - 07/18/10 07:27 PM Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: George Little]  
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
With my AHJ...

#12 is the smallest conductor permitted in Commercial Construction -- to include Romex -- and to include motor loads.

With such a local rule -- no commercial design uses 15 Amp breakers normally. No cost savings are to be had -- instead you end up using more breakers and circuits to handle the total load.


Tesla


Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.010s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7615 MB (Peak: 0.8949 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 23:31:16 UTC