ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
FEMA height and electrical equiment.,
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 08:15 PM
Recall notice: Square D Services Switches
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 01:24 PM
Big Square D service switch Recall
by sparkyinak. 04/18/18 12:30 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by LongRunner. 04/17/18 06:23 AM
Extension cords
by Texas_Ranger. 04/16/18 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 3 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
15 amp circuits commercial? #195178
07/15/10 02:00 AM
07/15/10 02:00 AM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 222
Washington...Not DC
I am looking at a plan for an auto parts store, it calls for lighting to be 20A ckts and gen outlets to be 15A, along with exhaust fans, printer ckt. Isn't there a code requiring all commercial lighting and plugs ckts to be 20 Amps? Or is that just how I've always done it?
Thanks guys,
H20

Last edited by watersparkfalls; 07/15/10 02:00 AM.
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: watersparkfalls] #195182
07/15/10 03:03 PM
07/15/10 03:03 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,946
Brick, NJ USA
H2O:
There are no NEC requirements for 'general purpose' comm receptacles, spacing or ampacity.

However, you may have something in your local codes. Otherwise this is a design issue.

Now, talking about what I call "normal trade practices" comm work would be all #12 & 20 amp circuits; that's how I did it, but that's not NEC for GP circuits.



John
Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: HotLine1] #195184
07/15/10 05:47 PM
07/15/10 05:47 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
I would add to what John has said that using 15a. circuits for receptacles you will be looking at no more than 10 receptacles on a circuit (assume non-continuous), continuous load would only allow 8 receptacles on a 15a. circuit.


George Little
Re: 15 amp circuits commercial? [Re: George Little] #195214
07/18/10 07:27 PM
07/18/10 07:27 PM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
With my AHJ...

#12 is the smallest conductor permitted in Commercial Construction -- to include Romex -- and to include motor loads.

With such a local rule -- no commercial design uses 15 Amp breakers normally. No cost savings are to be had -- instead you end up using more breakers and circuits to handle the total load.


Tesla

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
245,827 Are you busy
182,869 Re: Forum
172,720 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9600 MB (Peak: 1.0940 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-04-19 09:38:35 UTC