ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
SCADA interview questions and answers 2019
by niamishra. 10/17/18 03:26 AM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Under Cabinet Task Lighting #194567
06/10/10 11:44 PM
06/10/10 11:44 PM
dougwells  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
I have a customer that is supplying the fixtures. The transformer looks like it is for another application than being hardwired . The lighting store told him to just install it in a switch box.
Can the LV conductors and the loomex be in the same device box or does there need to be a separator.

[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Under Cabinet Task Lighting [Re: dougwells] #194570
06/11/10 10:45 AM
06/11/10 10:45 AM
J
Jim M  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 457
Chestertown, MD, USA
You would need separation between the two voltages, but I don't see how to do that with that setup.

IIRC the LV parts must be listed as a system, not a cobbled together mix of parts.

Re: Under Cabinet Task Lighting [Re: Jim M] #194575
06/11/10 02:53 PM
06/11/10 02:53 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
I loath those things. There is no legal way to connect them to the line and then leave the box. These are the most abused components in domestic lighting products. the primary and secondary leads must use the same voltage class of wire if there is no barrier and are only approved as a component part of a fixture.
The outputs are marked class 2 but in order to enjoy class 2 relaxations the line must be seperated from the load by a barrier or spaced in such a way as it is impossible to make contact with the input wires with the output. These transformers were designed to provide low voltage output for the bulb but inside of a fixture canopy or luminaire.
The legal way to wire undercounter low voltage lighting is with a transformer that has a plug and load connector hard wired at the factory for external use and plugged into a switched outlet with no dimmer.
Or use a barriered box that seperated the line and load wiring.
If you can find a 75 0r 100 va class 2 doorbell transformer that mounts on a box, that would be legal but maybe not compatible to the fixtures?

Re: Under Cabinet Task Lighting [Re: mikesh] #194578
06/11/10 03:49 PM
06/11/10 03:49 PM
dougwells  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 1,149
kamloops BC Canada
Thanks Mike
I just needed to clarify as the lighting stores dont care what they sell customers anymore it seems.

Re: Under Cabinet Task Lighting [Re: dougwells] #194583
06/11/10 06:36 PM
06/11/10 06:36 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
Yes some lighting store use sales staff to repair and alter components to suit what ever they think works without any evaluation or code checking to see if what they are doing meets Standards or code.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,350 Are you busy
187,974 Re: Forum
177,520 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9694 MB (Peak: 1.1116 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-17 22:40:19 UTC