ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
EMC Glands on Motors
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:53 PM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:45 PM
Colt Firearms Switchbox
by NORCAL - 11/29/22 01:04 AM
Perfect work light?
by gfretwell - 11/22/22 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 65 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
The owner of an assisted living complex installed a large
walk-in refrigeration unit outside. He is afraid that the required exterior GFI will trip and cause the food to spoil. Would it be OK to install a disconnect instead of the receptacle to get around the exterior GFI requirement?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
I don't Belive Walk in cooler Feeds Require GFI.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
I agree Ernie, but there's a chance that a service receptacle might be needed and if so, that would need GFCI protection. He said that it was a refrigerator so he might not need heat tapes on the doors or drain lines like he might if it were a Freezer.


George Little
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,323
Likes: 7
Member
Just out of curiousity, how 'large' a walk-in box could this unit be? 20 amp, 120 volt? Plug-in compressor and condenser?

I can't recall seeing a WI box that was cord & plug connected.



John
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,430
Likes: 3
Member
If a thing like this is so large (and possibly never likely to be moved), why does it have to have a plug-socket arrangement on it at all?
What I am tending to think is that it could be permanently wired into it's supply source with a disconnect in an accessible position.

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Yo! I'm back.
The unit is about 7'by 6' with the compressor package on the
roof. It does have a cord. Considering your great input, I think I've decided to just hardwire it and put it on a non-GFI circuit. Thanks!

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,323
Likes: 7
Member
And I'm still curious!!


John
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
T
Member
Is this in Placerville?


Tesla
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 244
W
wewire2 Offline OP
Member
Sorry for the delay in responding.
Hotline1, I'll post a photo of the unit this week. Tesla, nope it's not located in Placerville. Should start the job
on Monday. Thanks!


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 7
NORCAL 5
Popular Topics(Views)
300,341 Are you busy
230,001 Re: Forum
214,810 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5