ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 08/31/21 04:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 34 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#193472 04/04/10 09:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
I am wiring an addition on an existing house. Does the code require that I install hardwired smokes in the existing part of the house as well or just in the new addition? The existing part will not be remodeled. Also, what rooms require smokes? Bedrooms, kitchen, livingroom, office, laundry room, hallways.....anything else? What about a walk-in closet located within a master bath? Attached garage, or unfinished attic containing a furnace. Thanks for the information.

Merlin #193473 04/04/10 10:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
Absolute question for your building dept/Fire prevention. This is not covered by the NEC.

In Massachusetts, more than 30% of total sq' or addition of a bedroom. (+-)Entire dwelling must be brought up to code.

leland #193481 04/05/10 12:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Member
this is a building code item. Recommended areas are bedrooms , hallway outside bedrooms main living area mechanical room each level of a multi level home.

Rewire #193503 04/05/10 08:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
L
New Member
In Michigan,whenever there is a building permit,hard wired smokes are required.1 in every bedroom.And 1 in adjacent hallway.And 1 on every level of the house.We are allowed to use battery only smokes,in area's that are not being worked on,if damage must be done for installation.

larrypro #193526 04/06/10 06:19 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Unless house was built before November 6th 1974 , then there not required in bedrooms.(Michigan)R313.4 Page 55 /2006 MRC

Yoopersup #193535 04/07/10 02:06 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
Originally Posted by Yoopersup
Unless house was built before November 6th 1974 , then there not required in bedrooms.(Michigan)R313.4 Page 55 /2006 MRC


This may be true. but check into when the house is sold.
This can also trigger an update to current requirements.

leland #193537 04/07/10 03:33 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Merlin,
I'm from out of town, you could say.

Personally I would like to see smoke detectors in as many rooms as possible, all linked together, because you can't smell when you are asleep.
Having said that, installing a smoke detector in a kitchen is asking for trouble, if someone burns the toast, the whole house gets woken up.

Steam will also set off a smoke detector, because of the vapour, so it is best not to protect laundries with a dryer unless it is vented outside.

A note to installers of stand-alone smoke detectors, I have struck a few dodgy installs as a Fire Officer, by handymen that would negate their effectiveness.
There is a dead-air space that extends 1' from the corner of a ceiling, both horizontally out from a wall and vertically down that wall.
NEVER install a smoke detector in that space, in a fire, smoke never gets near this zone in the earlier stages.
In houses with a stairway, there should be a detector at the top ceiling above that stairway, in the centre of it, not off to one side or anything silly like that.

Trumpy #193539 04/07/10 09:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 165
R
Member
f you put a detector in a kithen I would use a photoelectric type.

leland #193546 04/07/10 01:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
We're talking MRC here . Most areas unless local ordance or Insurance company requires older houses not required to have them at all. Unless you can show me otherwise.

Yoopersup #193549 04/07/10 04:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,662
Likes: 4
G
Member
I believe you will be putting current code compliant smokes into any area that needs them and gets renovated on a permit in Florida.
I did it as a matter of course in my renovation and when my plan came back from plan review, that entry had a check mark next to it. They also put a check mark on my load calc.
I am not sure if either was really necessary but they did acknowledge it
I can ask the question over on IAEI if you like.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
282,903 Are you busy
216,666 Re: Forum
203,097 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5