ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
It's been an interesting career
by Marienauripod - 05/18/22 07:37 PM
Material shortages???
by NORCAL - 05/02/22 04:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 17 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
According to 310.15(B)(6), I can feed a 120/240 single phase service with 400 MCM copper. Am I correct that for a 4 wire, 3 phase, 120/240 service that I have to derated per 310.15(B)(2)(a)? If so, I would need 500 MCM, correct? Thanks, Merlin

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
310.15(B)(6) is for single phase dwelling units service and feeders. Since that you are bringing in a 3 phase service, you can not derate. If you were to then run single phase feeders to like apartment units, those could be derated. Otherwise no derating is allowed.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Thanks Sparky. So if that is the case, then I have to run 500 MCM conductors then. Correct?

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
yep


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
I stand corrected, yes as far as your original yes. The service wires by code are only required to be big enough to the load caulated in Article 220. However if you are building something off of an engineer's drawing, you need to use was was spec'ed of do a RFI with the designer of record. There may be also local ordinaces. I typically size my feeders based on my main breaker size. This way if the loads increase on the future, the customer will not have to pay twice.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Am I allowed to size according to breaker size at 80%? Therefore allowing me to use 350 MCM. Or would I have to use 100% rating? Thats how I read the code one minute, but the next I'm second guessing myself!

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
you can run at 100% however if you going to make single phase feeder network you can not reduce the neutal conductor at all espcally feeded from 3 supply.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
NORCAL 2
Popular Topics(Views)
291,288 Are you busy
223,801 Re: Forum
209,211 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5