ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/23/17 09:05 AM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,145 Are you busy
175,766 Re: Forum
167,953 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 98 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#191899 - 01/17/10 09:10 PM 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question.  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 170
NW Indiana
According to 310.15(B)(6), I can feed a 120/240 single phase service with 400 MCM copper. Am I correct that for a 4 wire, 3 phase, 120/240 service that I have to derated per 310.15(B)(2)(a)? If so, I would need 500 MCM, correct? Thanks, Merlin


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#191900 - 01/17/10 09:26 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: Merlin]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
310.15(B)(6) is for single phase dwelling units service and feeders. Since that you are bringing in a 3 phase service, you can not derate. If you were to then run single phase feeders to like apartment units, those could be derated. Otherwise no derating is allowed.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#191901 - 01/17/10 09:33 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: sparkyinak]  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 170
NW Indiana
Thanks Sparky. So if that is the case, then I have to run 500 MCM conductors then. Correct?


#191902 - 01/17/10 09:51 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: Merlin]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
yep


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#191903 - 01/17/10 10:03 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: sparkyinak]  
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,327
Alaska
I stand corrected, yes as far as your original yes. The service wires by code are only required to be big enough to the load caulated in Article 220. However if you are building something off of an engineer's drawing, you need to use was was spec'ed of do a RFI with the designer of record. There may be also local ordinaces. I typically size my feeders based on my main breaker size. This way if the loads increase on the future, the customer will not have to pay twice.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa

#191904 - 01/17/10 10:12 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: sparkyinak]  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 170
NW Indiana
Am I allowed to size according to breaker size at 80%? Therefore allowing me to use 350 MCM. Or would I have to use 100% rating? Thats how I read the code one minute, but the next I'm second guessing myself!


#191906 - 01/17/10 10:49 PM Re: 400 amp 3 phase 120/240 question. [Re: Merlin]  
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
you can run at 100% however if you going to make single phase feeder network you can not reduce the neutal conductor at all espcally feeded from 3 supply.

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)



Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7848 MB (Peak: 0.9419 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 19:36:44 UTC