ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 82 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#191863 01/16/10 04:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
jdevlin Offline OP
Member
This one has me stumped.
Here the situation.

15 amp circuit trips when heater plugged into it. Nothing else on circuit.
Ammeter reads 12.5 amps at breaker.
Same heater runs fine on an other circuit drawing same 12.5 amps

OK, bad breaker you say. Swapped breaker with one beside it in panel. Still trips.
Breaker is not hot. Takes about 5 minutes to trip.
Remove breaker and inspected bus. Looks perfect as does breaker contact.

What to check next?

Breaker panel is only about 15 years old FPE. I installed it and I also installed the circuit so I know where the cable runs exactly.

Don't bitch about FPE panel. We still install them new here in Canada. Very popular brand.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,291
Member
"Swapped breaker with one beside it in panel. Still trips."

My suggestion is to replace the breaker with a brand new one, instead of a used one that may or may not have the same problems.


Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
By change the breaker that is tripping a gfci breaker? Another thing you can do is instead of clamping the load wire, clamp the main line. Does your meter have a max hold feature that changes only when the voltage increases?


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
jdevlin Offline OP
Member
Breaker is not GFCI or AFCI. I was clamped right at the breaker. I did use the hold feature and it did not spike high. The high max was 12.55 amps.

Do you think it is possible that more than one breaker could be tripping at the low value?

I guess a new breaker should be next try? Anything else that could possibly cause something like this?

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,788
Likes: 14
G
Member
Swap with the breaker you know it works on


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
Bad cable? Takes 5 minutes to trip,maybe that long to heat up the conductors and find a fault in the insulation.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
I'm not surprised that two breakers, possibly from the same batch, both trip at the same value, and no one thinks that FPE has mastered the making of breakers.

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 329
I
Member
Hmm, an FPE that trips early? I thought they usually had the opposite problem wink

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,432
Likes: 3
Member
Did you open and check the receptacle you originally had the heater plugged into?

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
jdevlin Offline OP
Member
The receptacle has been opened. What type of problem in a receptacle could make a breaker trip at 12.5 amps?

Trying to understand what other than the breaker could be the problem now that I have been think more about this.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,139 Are you busy
232,162 Re: Forum
216,887 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5