ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by HotLine1. 08/21/18 03:58 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 07:00 PM
Light Pole Grounding
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 05:34 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Wiring for office cubicles #191846
01/16/10 12:53 AM
01/16/10 12:53 AM
S
SJT  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
PATCHOGUE, N.Y.
Is there a rule of thumb for the amount of circuits to be ran in an office setting with approx. 10 cubicles. Each would have a computer, monitor, and printer. I'm going to figure 1 amp for a single computer, and 1 amp for a single monitor. Are the desktop printers in the range of 2 amps? The computers, I would think should be figured with continuous duty, 125% added in. Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: SJT] #191849
01/16/10 02:06 AM
01/16/10 02:06 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
CRT or LCD monitor? Inkjet or laser printer? Computers can vary a lot, depending on how much kludge is in the box... A standard computer is probably around 100W or less, but professional workstations with multiple processors and hard drives can be more.

Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: SJT] #191850
01/16/10 02:34 AM
01/16/10 02:34 AM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,895
NY, USA
One thing I'd ask is if the people will be allowed to have portable heaters. Some people can't live without them. There might be a copy machine that will need its own circuit too.

Bill

Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: Bill Addiss] #191856
01/16/10 03:12 PM
01/16/10 03:12 PM
HotLine1  Online Content

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,002
Brick, NJ USA
First & foremost IMHO, the following info should be available to the EC. Are cubicles 'new' or 'pre-owned'; equipped with factory' wiring harnesses? Or is the EC doing it from scratch?

Factory units must be wired to mfg instructions.

Otherwise, if it's a 'scratch' job, & the budget range of the job, 5 amps per ststion, 3 stations per 20 amp (derated); 4x20amp circuits would be my minimum.
Now...electric heat? 1 circuit each station! Toaster ovens? Don't laugh, I've been there!



John
Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: Bill Addiss] #191857
01/16/10 03:16 PM
01/16/10 03:16 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,254
Estero,Fl,usa
I think you better bump that 100w up a bit. The PC that I am typing on now is pulling a tad over 180w just sitting here and when the CPU really cranks up (IE editing a video file) it goes over 200. That is a 2.8gz single core computer, 15" LCD monitor, a switch and a router. Ink Jet printer idle.
Just for Gee whiz info the Kilawatt device says I used 459 KWH in 2516 hours.

That translates to at least 2 amps

If they are going to have a laser printer, add 10 amps.

What is the wiring method? If they have an under the floor raceway/duct system you have a chance to upgrade. Nobody ever got in long term trouble putting too much power into an office but sometimes it takes a few years to prove them right. Going for the minimum usually bites you in the butt fairly soon.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: HotLine1] #191859
01/16/10 03:47 PM
01/16/10 03:47 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,895
NY, USA
Originally Posted by HotLine1
Now...electric heat? 1 circuit each station! Toaster ovens? Don't laugh, I've been there!
Don't forget Coffee maker(s)

smile
Bill

Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: Bill Addiss] #191861
01/16/10 04:14 PM
01/16/10 04:14 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
The last pre-fab cubicles were arranged with three 20-amp circuits shared over five cubicles, if that's any help.

Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: renosteinke] #191871
01/17/10 01:07 AM
01/17/10 01:07 AM
S
SJT  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
PATCHOGUE, N.Y.
The cubicles were pre-wired with factory assemblies. They may be the 8 pin type. It was set up with 2 circuits, and they want a third circuit. Looks like the in house Electricians will have to open the existing outlets to find where the circuits originate from.
Good Weekend

Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: SJT] #191873
01/17/10 02:18 AM
01/17/10 02:18 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
Alaska
Rule of thumb for general open office is 4 cubicals. If you suspect extra electrical loads like coffee makers, boot dryers and such, 3 per circuit.

Last edited by sparkyinak; 01/17/10 02:18 AM.

"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: Wiring for office cubicles [Re: gfretwell] #191874
01/17/10 02:56 AM
01/17/10 02:56 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Originally Posted by gfretwell
I think you better bump that 100w up a bit. The PC that I am typing on now is pulling a tad over 180w just sitting here and when the CPU really cranks up (IE editing a video file) it goes over 200. That is a 2.8gz single core computer, 15" LCD monitor, a switch and a router.


Ok, let's say 200W... My two computers (one Mac Mini and one AthlonX2) and CRT draw 320W. Figure 60W on the CRT, 40-60W for the Mini and 200-220W on the Athlon. Could do more comprehensive tests, but that would require a shutdown.

Last edited by noderaser; 01/17/10 03:01 AM.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,431
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,684 Are you busy
186,422 Re: Forum
175,905 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.036s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0292 MB (Peak: 1.2125 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-21 22:15:04 UTC