ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 248 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#18837 12/15/02 01:43 PM
T
Hi, all. I've been hanging around here for a few months, learning, trying to contribute, and now I have some questions.

One is as follows.

A GFCI receptacle, such as this one
[Linked Image from 65.108.216.53]
is listed as a 15 amp receptacle, 20 amps feed-through.

I take this to mean that receptacles that are attached to the LOAD side of the GFCI (that is, those receptacles that would be after the GFCI, so if the GFCI trips, those receptacles would also loose power) can be 20 amp receptacles.

If this is the case, why wouldn't the GFCI receptacle be rated at 20 amps, appearing as such [Linked Image from 65.108.216.53]

I am having trouble comprehending how a device rated at 15 amps can be on a circuit with a 20 amp breaker. Does that not present a hazard of the receptacle overheating? (Not just in this example of GFCI, but on a circuit that would have a 20 amp breaker, 12 AWG cable, but receptacles rated for 15 amps. Doesn't that allow for overheating of the receptacle and/or that which is powered by it?)

I look forward to your informative answers.

Thanks.

[This message has been edited by ThinkGood (edited 12-15-2002).]

S
ThinkGood,