ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 298 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#186625 05/21/09 09:45 PM
Cat Servant
As a relatively new contractor, I have been making moew visits to the local PoCo than I ever thought possible. It's just amazing how many issues / jobs involve having a chat with them.

I have also been fortunate in that I am largely serving the same folks I served before "the boss" retired. Yet, I've discovered another side to these customers.

They are all in fear of the PoCo.

Whether it be a service change or new construction, they all get nervous when I mention talking to the PoCo. Today, one landlord was furious I had called "the authorities." Heck, the service was pulled free fron the building, the mast was severed from the main disconnect - and I was supposed to fix it 'hot?" (All thanks to someone climbing the mast). This guy was terrified that his apartment building would be shut down.

How do your customers react to the PoCo? Do you conceal most dealings from them?

renosteinke #186627 05/21/09 09:57 PM
As an inspector, I have a very good relationship with the POCO in the twp that I work for. Great guys, only a cell phone call away.

As an EC (inactive now) I had 'good' to 'great' contacts with a few PSE&G wiring inspectors.