ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
how to size wire for voltage drop #186585 05/20/09 06:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
lite bulb Offline OP
Member
I need to feed a 200 amp 3ph 120/240 panel from the power co. 450' will be (al) areial and 110' will be (cu)underground over to the panel. How do you size the wire for voltage drop

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: lite bulb] #186587 05/20/09 07:39 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Compute the two separately, and add up the cumulative voltage drop. You can use the tables in the back of NEC, or one of the calculators online like this one: http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html

Do you mean 3-phase 120/208, or 1-phase 120/240?

FYI, the "half-length" the calculations ask for, in your case, would be 450' and 110', as the electricity has to take a return trip down back the same wire, so the actual electrical length required for calculating voltage drop would be twice that.

Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: lite bulb] #186588 05/20/09 07:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
We need more information to calculate the wire size. Namely what is the expected load on the panel. It would not be practical to size the wire for a 200a. load and try to maintain the 240/120v. status. Once we know the "load" we need to know what voltage drop you can tolerate. Then there are formulae for giving you the wire size.


George Little
Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: SteveFehr] #186589 05/20/09 07:47 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
don't most poco's do the sizing inclusive in their doctrine for us?

~S~

Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: sparky] #186590 05/20/09 08:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
lite bulb Offline OP
Member
The service is 120/240 3ph hi leg and the connected load is 150 amp. motor load.

Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: lite bulb] #186598 05/20/09 12:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Oh wow, there's going to be some SERIOUS kick-down when that motor starts. What's the locked-rotor current for that motor?

This is a textbook case where you're probably better off stepping up to a higher voltage and stepping back down. Any chance of getting your service at 480V and using a 480V motor? This will eliminate the need for two 72kVA transformers. You can throw on a small transformer for the 120V loads, and come out WAY ahead in copper.

Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: SteveFehr] #186602 05/20/09 06:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
lite bulb Offline OP
Member
I have three 7-1/2 hp one 5 hp thats 108 amps with the 125%, the 42 amps is lighting. I should have listed it earlier in the post it looks like there is 150 amps in motor load but there is not.

Last edited by lite bulb; 05/20/09 06:30 PM.
Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: lite bulb] #186608 05/20/09 08:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
I agree with Steve. Consider also getting a separate drop from the utility company. Getting that much power over that distance is extremely expensive. Get an engineer to figure your wire size if you can't get the utility to give you a separate drop. I could figure it out but I think you'd end up with xformers as the best route if the utility can't accommodate you with a drop.


George Little
Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: George Little] #186612 05/20/09 10:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Litebulb:

Is your question in this thread a 'school project'?



John
Re: how to size wire for voltage drop [Re: HotLine1] #186622 05/21/09 02:12 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
Ya know John, I think you are right, I seem to remember that same problem showing up before and it was off some test or school project someplace. I'm sticking with my suggestion and see what happens smile


George Little
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,730 Are you busy
209,645 Re: Forum
196,989 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3