ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
I recently changed a service from 100 amps to 200 amps. The inside panel had a ground wire going to the water pipe. This panel is not located with the mains outside. Can I leave this ground wire hooked up or do I disconnect it? I have the grounding electrode outside connectected to the Main panel outside. Thanks... Steve

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
For myself I will leave it and that panel become a subpanel so as long you have grouding bar in there and keep the netrual and ground seprated and the exsting EGC is there you can use it.

{ unless your local code say something diffrent then follow thier regualtions }

Merci,Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
Metal main water pipe?
What is your main ground electrode now?
Either way, the copper water pipe must be bonded.

sounds like your ok, bond the pipe to the Subs ground.Jump the meter so you have a good bond on the house side.

250.52 addresses this.

Last edited by leland; 02/13/09 02:13 PM. Reason: water meter jumper
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
Member
Originally Posted by sparkync
I recently changed a service from 100 amps to 200 amps. The inside panel had a ground wire going to the water pipe. This panel is not located with the mains outside. Can I leave this ground wire hooked up or do I disconnect it? I have the grounding electrode outside connectected to the Main panel outside. Thanks... Steve


I think the problem might be that if it was previously 100A, then that bond to the water piping is probably only a #6 or #8 Cu.
With a 200A, it now should be at least #4, according to Table 250.66.
I would remove the old wire and run a new #4 Cu from the piping to the main panel outside. IMO, that's where it really belongs anyway.

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
K-Jay- hello.

At this point providing he met the proper GEC methods. Isn't this just now a bond?

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Kjay is Right your grounding electroid wire at the outside 100 is probally 6 or 8.
You need a #4 for 200 amps . (250.66)
This MUST be run to the Service disconnecting means outside Not subpanel. (250.24C).
Also read (250.50)250.52)
Yoopersup

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
If the water main is primary, then a supplemental GE is needed.
My understanding is He has his ground (thru rods) met.Now the water need only be bonded.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
250.50
ALL grounding electrodes as described in 250.52(a)1 though (a)6 that are PRESENT. shall be bonded TOGETHER to form grounding electrod system.
See 250.52 Water Underground Water pipeing.
Your only bonding the water line when less then 10ft of metal pipe is outside the building.
Again read code sections I refered to in my ist post.
Yoopersup
If its part of the Grounding Electrod system it must go to the Service disconnect or disconnect switches.

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
Member
Originally Posted by Yoopersup
250.50
ALL grounding electrodes as described in 250.52(a)1 though (a)6 that are PRESENT. shall be bonded TOGETHER to form grounding electrod system.
See 250.52 Water Underground Water pipeing.
Your only bonding the water line when less then 10ft of metal pipe is outside the building.
Again read code sections I refered to in my ist post.
Yoopersup
If its part of the Grounding Electrod system it must go to the Service disconnect or disconnect switches.


Got Me Guy!!!
"..That are present...."
Up size it and bring that conductor back to the main.

Thanx for grabbing my attention to that.I got tunnel vision.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Cat Servant
Member
Look at 250.66 closer ... the text, not the table. You need not have a GEC larger than #6, no matter the service size.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
FGBY 2
Popular Topics(Views)
283,052 Are you busy
216,777 Re: Forum
203,177 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5