ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 9
A
New Member

This is a scan someone else took from a trade magazine

Our 'regs'(code) now requires electric shower heaters to be RCD (GFCI) protected* ... but this kind of defeats the purpose a little :P

[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]

* it always was strongly recommended.


Last edited by Trumpy; 01/26/09 09:48 PM. Reason: To move pic to Electrical-Pics and add link
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,423
Likes: 3
Member
Hmm,
Not good at all, 40A breaker on a length of 6mm?.
Makes you wonder where people learn to do things like this.

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,497
T
Member
Hey, it could be worse (the cross section thing) - the POs ingenious sparky used bus bar for the phases and jumpered the neutrals (switched neutral MCBs) with wire links - 2.5mm2 for 35 amps. Needless to say I used 6mm2...

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
IMO the RCD device should be in enclosed box to prevent the water get into the RCD device.

Here in France, yes we have to run them on RCD the old code did not need the RCD if hardwired but now it don't matter which way it hook up.

6mm2 ? with 40 amp OCPD there if very short run yeah it will work however IMO just boost it to next size larger conductor 8mm2 will work fine { if ya can find this size }

Merci,Marc



Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,423
Likes: 3
Member
With a 40A MCB on the circuit, you'd need 10mm2 cable.

The CB is installed to protect the cable, not what is on the end of it.

Common sense would tell you that that RCD unit should be installed at the start of the circuit, not the end of it, otherwise only half of the circuit is being protected.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 787
L
Member
Common sense would tell you that that RCD unit should be installed at the start of the circuit, not the end of it, otherwise only half of the circuit is being protected.

Common sense? shocked

Does it look like common sense was even in the room at the time of installation?

Last edited by LarryC; 02/09/09 03:45 PM.
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,497
T
Member
Interesting... my table (Austrian code) says cable embedded in masonry 6mm2 is good for 40 amps. Wire in conduit is slightly lower in capacity, the table doesn't list anything beyond 25 amps single phase, but for 3 phase (again lower capacity) 6mm2 is only good for 35amps.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,630 Are you busy
228,437 Re: Forum
213,291 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5