ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 10:01 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,374 Are you busy
177,325 Re: Forum
168,950 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 59 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#182637 - 12/05/08 10:51 AM just to let you know  
JoeKP  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
Berkley, MA
hey everyone, just to let you know, i am a really good It Tech, and if you have any questions or need help with computers, just feel free to ask me smile I'd be glad to help.


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH

Tools for Electricians:

#182720 - 12/07/08 10:00 PM Re: just to let you know [Re: JoeKP]  
pdh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
You wanna do the Windows cases and let me handle the Linux cases?


#182725 - 12/08/08 12:02 AM Re: just to let you know [Re: pdh]  
JoeKP  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
Berkley, MA
sure smile im not the best with linux anyway


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH

#182739 - 12/08/08 03:39 PM Re: just to let you know [Re: JoeKP]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,122
Estero,Fl,usa
OK I will bite

What is the trick to get XP machines to talk to w/98 machines on a network


Greg Fretwell

#182740 - 12/08/08 04:21 PM Re: just to let you know [Re: gfretwell]  
JoeKP  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
Berkley, MA
you have to make sure that they are on the same workgroup (ex. MSHOME)then make sure that the IP is set to config automatically
then restart, then look in the my network places


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH

#182741 - 12/08/08 05:16 PM Re: just to let you know [Re: JoeKP]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,122
Estero,Fl,usa
I haven't loaded the XP machine yet but the last time I tried it they couldn't see each other and I downloaded some stuff from Microsoft for the W/98 machines. It still didn't work and I gave up. Now my wife wants the XP on her machine but I fear she will be lost to the rest of my W/98 network.


Greg Fretwell

#182753 - 12/09/08 01:54 AM Re: just to let you know [Re: gfretwell]  
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
One trick I've discovered, that seems to make Windows XP machines "talk" better to other computers on a home network, is to add another protocol (I usually add IPX/SPX) in the properties of your network connection. To do this, go to "My Network Places", click "View Network Connections", right-click on the connection you're using (probably "Local Area Connection" unless you're using wireless) and select "Properties". Then, Install>Protocol>IPX/SPX. You may need your Windows CD, and will have to restart your computer after the protocol is installed. You should do the same on the Win98 machine, although the steps might be slightly different.

Also, check the properties on "My Computer" and make sure that your Workgroup (on the "Computer Name" tab) is the same on all of your computers, as was suggested previously.

I had some Windows XP computers on a home network with a Windows 95 machine (486), and everything seemed to work ok once I did those steps on all computers involved. I'm pretty sure that I even had printer sharing up and running.

For the Linux guy: How do you mount a drive from a Mac running OS X 10.4.11 on Ubuntu 8.10, without using FTP? I had it working on an older machine running 8.04, and don't remember the steps I took... I think I did something with Samba, but that option isn't in the "Connect to server" menu on 8.10 and there are too many samba-related options listed in Syanptic Package Manager for me to do any testing there. Of course, I reformatted the machine I had it working on, so I can't just go and check. [/me slaps forehead]


#182754 - 12/09/08 05:01 AM Re: just to let you know [Re: noderaser]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,122
Estero,Fl,usa
OK I guess I will load it up and see what happens, Thanks


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.007s) Memory: 0.7957 MB (Peak: 0.9590 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-18 16:51:11 UTC