ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 4
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by gfretwell. 12/13/17 09:49 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by sparky. 12/13/17 06:57 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,036 Are you busy
179,453 Re: Forum
170,394 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#182070 - 11/17/08 12:48 PM Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex  
Tammy Gammon  Offline
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#182076 - 11/17/08 02:15 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell

#182081 - 11/17/08 05:03 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell]  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little

#182090 - 11/17/08 08:27 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.012s) Memory: 0.7610 MB (Peak: 0.8934 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-14 07:51:03 UTC