ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
PurpleAir Recalls Power Supply Units
by Admin. 02/14/19 08:43 PM
Utility Company Programs
by katty81. 02/14/19 11:11 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Trumpy. 02/14/19 12:29 AM
250.104
by BigB. 02/13/19 07:22 PM
Delta Electronics Recalls Solar Inverters
by electech. 02/13/19 10:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 10 guests, and 22 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex #182070
11/17/08 12:48 PM
11/17/08 12:48 PM
T
Tammy Gammon  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon] #182076
11/17/08 02:15 PM
11/17/08 02:15 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,336
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell] #182081
11/17/08 05:03 PM
11/17/08 05:03 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,493
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little] #182090
11/17/08 08:27 PM
11/17/08 08:27 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,336
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,260
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
253,198 Are you busy
189,855 Re: Forum
179,557 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9597 MB (Peak: 1.0935 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-02-15 19:47:03 UTC