ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
https://crbtech.in/e
lectrical-design/top
-plc-scada

by niamishra. 10/18/18 02:52 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
SCADA interview questions and answers 2019
by niamishra. 10/17/18 03:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (geoff in UK), 5 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex #182070
11/17/08 01:48 PM
11/17/08 01:48 PM
T
Tammy Gammon  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon] #182076
11/17/08 03:15 PM
11/17/08 03:15 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,298
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell] #182081
11/17/08 06:03 PM
11/17/08 06:03 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little] #182090
11/17/08 09:27 PM
11/17/08 09:27 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,298
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,376 Are you busy
187,988 Re: Forum
177,532 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.075s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9603 MB (Peak: 1.0941 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-18 08:12:54 UTC