ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,870 Are you busy
175,422 Re: Forum
167,719 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#182070 - 11/17/08 01:48 PM Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex  
Tammy Gammon  Offline
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#182076 - 11/17/08 03:15 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell

#182081 - 11/17/08 06:03 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell]  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little

#182090 - 11/17/08 09:27 PM Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell


Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7609 MB (Peak: 0.8928 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-17 09:54:00 UTC