ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Pull out fuse panel?
by wa2ise. 12/14/18 05:09 PM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by gfretwell. 12/10/18 12:35 AM
Conduit fill Calculations
by gfretwell. 12/08/18 08:39 PM
Swimming Pool question
by HotLine1. 12/05/18 12:37 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by rmiell. 11/30/18 01:03 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex #182070
11/17/08 12:48 PM
11/17/08 12:48 PM
T
Tammy Gammon  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon] #182076
11/17/08 02:15 PM
11/17/08 02:15 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,323
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell] #182081
11/17/08 05:03 PM
11/17/08 05:03 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,493
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little] #182090
11/17/08 08:27 PM
11/17/08 08:27 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,323
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,276
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
252,218 Are you busy
189,192 Re: Forum
178,875 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9601 MB (Peak: 1.0940 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-15 17:09:47 UTC