ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Whirlpool Recalls KitchenAid Electric Kettles
by Admin. 02/22/18 11:35 AM
Safest socket system for wet pottery studio?
by Jules69. 02/21/18 05:12 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 02/21/18 10:22 AM
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (LongRunner), 23 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex #182070
11/17/08 12:48 PM
11/17/08 12:48 PM
T
Tammy Gammon  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
Hi,

Besides replacing old 2 wire Romex, are there any retrofit techniques available?

Thanks,
Tammy

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: Tammy Gammon] #182076
11/17/08 02:15 PM
11/17/08 02:15 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,180
Estero,Fl,usa
There are ways you can run a separate EGC to each box in most cases but the only real thing you are saving is the cost of the wire. I bet the labor is a wash.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: gfretwell] #182081
11/17/08 05:03 PM
11/17/08 05:03 PM
G
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Depending on what you consider retrofitó It is permitted to protect the circuit with a Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter type circuit breaker and this would allow you to install a 3 wire receptacle (2 wire w/ ground) on the circuit and this would be code compliant, if that's what you were interested in. Beyond that, I agree with Greg.


George Little
Re: Retrofit for old 2 Wire Romex [Re: George Little] #182090
11/17/08 08:27 PM
11/17/08 08:27 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,180
Estero,Fl,usa
Usually when I hear this question it is because the customer wants to install something that needs a ground. Most stuff in a home has a 2 prong plug so it is not an issue but when you are installing computers that need surge/EMI protection or equipment with grounded cases there is nothing better than a real hard wire ground ... even if the code allows GFCIs.
Bear in mind, in most cases the fault will go through the user to operate the GFCI. I hope they know to test them often.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,052 Are you busy
181,045 Re: Forum
171,286 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9591 MB (Peak: 1.0930 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-22 18:33:12 UTC