ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Australia-wall boxes not required
by Trumpy - 04/03/20 12:17 AM
Hi-Vis madness
by grich - 04/02/20 02:22 PM
SBA & Paycheck Protection Program
by Bill Addiss - 04/02/20 10:01 AM
All this testing and tagging stuff?
by dsk - 04/01/20 02:28 PM
Pole climbing in Norway
by Texas_Ranger - 04/01/20 09:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Trumpy), 6 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox #181665 10/22/08 08:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
C
ComputerWizKid Offline OP
Member
The java script (I think it's the Java Script as I Keep getting this error every time I go to the site "Error: targ.parentNode.parentNode is null
Source File: https://www.electrical-contractor.net/forums/ubb_js/ubb_jslib.js
Line: 204")
on the ECN Forum page slows my mozilla FireFox down to a crawl and eventually causes it to freeze up. I don't know if it's just me or if any other FF users are experiencing the same problem with this site. I love this site so I'm just trying to let the webmasters know of a potential problem with the code website code


Theres always enough room in the junction box.You just need a bigger hammer
Tools for Electricians:
Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: ComputerWizKid] #181666 10/22/08 08:52 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 364
G
Gloria Offline
Member
Hi, I get the error sg like this while I want to open Firefox: Firefox is currently running, before starting a new session, close the previous. Sorry, I didn't quote it, it is on my home computer Firefox is installed...


The world is full of beauty if the heart is full of love
Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: Gloria] #181669 10/22/08 02:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,282
electure Offline
Member
Firefox freezes up on this site, and I don't know why.
It all started when I upgraded to Firefox 3.0.3

I just use Internet Explorer or Safari browsers, and it doesn't.

Simple fix.

Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: electure] #181677 10/23/08 11:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,600
Admin Offline
Administrator
Member
I can try removing the Chatroom counter, but I think that might be a step backwards.

Just curious, has anyone notified, or filed a bug report with the Firefox people?

Bill

Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: Admin] #181784 10/30/08 12:06 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 364
G
Gloria Offline
Member
I had, I was asked to install some Java, but on that link there was nothing of that sort.


The world is full of beauty if the heart is full of love
Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: Gloria] #182638 12/05/08 10:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
JoeKP Offline
Member
Originally Posted by Gloria
Hi, I get the error sg like this while I want to open Firefox: Firefox is currently running, before starting a new session, close the previous. Sorry, I didn't quote it, it is on my home computer Firefox is installed...

the Firefox.exe is still running, just go into your task manager, and go to processes, and end the Firefox.exe process, and you can reopen it again


-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: JoeKP] #183083 12/24/08 11:33 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,296
Trumpy Online Happy
Member
Firefox doesn't crash on this computer,
but on my laptop, it can take about 2 or 3 tries to get the page to load without getting the message:
Quote
Firefox has encountered a problem and needs to close, click below to tell M$ about this problem


Having said that, I'm not sure it is a Javascript problem that is causing this, rather a bad line of code in the Firefox browser software.

Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: Trumpy] #183302 01/03/09 07:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,296
Trumpy Online Happy
Member
Has everyone that has had this problem, got the latest version of Java Runtime Environment?
I just updated and the problem went away.

Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: Trumpy] #183309 01/03/09 02:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,455
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I haven't seen the problem since the final board upgrades took effect. I assumed it was just growing pains in the upgrade process.


Greg Fretwell
Re: ECN Javascrpt Freezes Mozilla FireFox [Re: gfretwell] #183316 01/03/09 11:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
P
pdh Offline
Member
I just encountered a Firefox lockup. I diagnosed the running processes and found the Java virtual machine was waiting forever on a "futex" semaphore with no available thread to wake it up. The main Firefox process was waiting in I/O poll for a response from the JVM. I was able to simulate a semaphore post and the JVM woke up and Firefox became active again. There are programming errors in both. I started a 2nd Firefox process (not a 2nd window ... this is a real separate process) and logged in to ECN from the 2nd one after disabling Java. The 2nd Firefox is running faster than the 1st Firefox for things like windowing exposes (it's not doing any server accesses, just redisplaying graphical bits). Firefox is basically not handling Java very well.

So what in ECN uses Java besides the chatroom? Everything else seems to be working OK with the Firefox that has Java disabled.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 74
Joined: June 2012
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 18
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
264,537 Are you busy
199,442 Re: Forum
188,431 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3