ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
nec 110.3 (B)
by gfretwell - 09/22/21 11:11 PM
Grounding electrodes
by gfretwell - 09/07/21 03:41 PM
Looking For Electricians in the Midlands
by Alex247 - 09/06/21 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#181736 10/27/08 04:34 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
Member
Hi,

Does anyone know what sort of power system they use in Dubai? We have a factory and we are sending a Ukranian machine from our UK factory there.

Wikipedia suggests that the single phase voltage is 220V but no mention of polyphase systems etc.

Mainly out of interest as we will be checking before we wire it in.


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
I'd recommend having someone at your factory verify what power is available in the building so that you can order whatever transformers or frequency converters are required before you get there. There's a mix of standards out there, so it's hard to assume. If the 1-phase matches british standards and uses british receptacles, it will most likely be 400V 50Hz for 3-phase.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
I was in Qatar 2 years ago and they were wiring to British codes. I think UAE is the same.

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Member
Good luck and keep us informed if you get a result wink

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
Member
Thanks for replying, it looks like the move might be delayed for a while as it has broken down! Rumour has it that our computers work fine out there but I will have to call in a local electrician to check it out.

I remember being slightly surprised to see our Singapore branch using all british accessories


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Johno,
If the single phase voltage is 220VAC, the 3 phase voltage is more than likely something like 380VAC star.

The question I would ask is, what sort of a machine is this?
Where voltage could be critical to controls and what-not.

One other thing, it is up to the installing electrician to verify that their systems will agree with the machine in question before it is installed.
There are a lot of ex-Aussie and NZ electricians over there in Dubai, that went there for the BIG money.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,279
Joined: April 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 3
Popular Topics(Views)
283,090 Are you busy
216,819 Re: Forum
203,190 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5