ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 23 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Power Systems in Dubai #181736 10/27/08 03:34 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
johno12345 Offline OP
Member
Hi,

Does anyone know what sort of power system they use in Dubai? We have a factory and we are sending a Ukranian machine from our UK factory there.

Wikipedia suggests that the single phase voltage is 220V but no mention of polyphase systems etc.

Mainly out of interest as we will be checking before we wire it in.


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Power Systems in Dubai [Re: johno12345] #181744 10/28/08 10:42 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
I'd recommend having someone at your factory verify what power is available in the building so that you can order whatever transformers or frequency converters are required before you get there. There's a mix of standards out there, so it's hard to assume. If the 1-phase matches british standards and uses british receptacles, it will most likely be 400V 50Hz for 3-phase.

Re: Power Systems in Dubai [Re: SteveFehr] #181941 11/10/08 12:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
I was in Qatar 2 years ago and they were wiring to British codes. I think UAE is the same.

Re: Power Systems in Dubai [Re: mikesh] #181983 11/14/08 10:00 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,492
T
Texas_Ranger Offline
Member
Good luck and keep us informed if you get a result wink

Re: Power Systems in Dubai [Re: Texas_Ranger] #181991 11/14/08 05:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 97
J
johno12345 Offline OP
Member
Thanks for replying, it looks like the move might be delayed for a while as it has broken down! Rumour has it that our computers work fine out there but I will have to call in a local electrician to check it out.

I remember being slightly surprised to see our Singapore branch using all british accessories


I took my time, I hurried up, The choice was mine, I didn't think enough
Re: Power Systems in Dubai [Re: johno12345] #182139 11/19/08 05:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
Johno,
If the single phase voltage is 220VAC, the 3 phase voltage is more than likely something like 380VAC star.

The question I would ask is, what sort of a machine is this?
Where voltage could be critical to controls and what-not.

One other thing, it is up to the installing electrician to verify that their systems will agree with the machine in question before it is installed.
There are a lot of ex-Aussie and NZ electricians over there in Dubai, that went there for the BIG money.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Samurai
Samurai
Fl.
Posts: 46
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,741 Are you busy
209,655 Re: Forum
197,002 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3