ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by luckyshadow. 12/04/17 06:08 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,991 Are you busy
179,383 Re: Forum
170,351 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#181555 - 10/15/08 10:43 PM Ammeter connection  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#181557 - 10/16/08 12:39 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,140
Estero,Fl,usa
Does it have lugs big enough for 4ga wire?


Greg Fretwell

#181558 - 10/16/08 05:35 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: gfretwell]  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
If i remember right, it has 1/4-20 studs.


#181561 - 10/16/08 08:48 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin]  
JBD  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
WI, USA
A direct connected meter is installed in series with the load.


#181562 - 10/16/08 10:22 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: JBD]  
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
-----0-0------- Line 1 --------------load--]
shunt ^
--------------- Neutral or Line 2 ----load-]

Last edited by mikesh; 10/16/08 10:25 AM.

#181566 - 10/16/08 10:49 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: mikesh]  
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Directly in series with the load. Take one leg of the load and connect it to the meter. Take the other supply leg and connect it to the meter.

Motor - Meter - Line. Example only


#181579 - 10/16/08 05:08 PM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: JValdes]  
Merlin  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
NW Indiana
Ok. I thought that was the case but didn't want to let the smoke out not being sure.


#181587 - 10/17/08 02:57 AM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,223
SI,New Zealand
Originally Posted by Merlin
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin

Also, bear in mind that the supply will need to be de-energised while this meter is installed, trying to do a job like this with the power still connected is just silly.


#181596 - 10/17/08 08:59 PM Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Trumpy]  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 721
Tucson, AZ USA
Funny, just a little while ago I was thinking about those old ammeters we used to have on the dashboards of our cars.



Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8014 MB (Peak: 0.9753 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-11 05:36:01 UTC