ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 06:05 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Ammeter connection #181555 10/15/08 10:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin] #181557 10/16/08 12:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,571
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Does it have lugs big enough for 4ga wire?


Greg Fretwell
Re: Ammeter connection [Re: gfretwell] #181558 10/16/08 05:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
If i remember right, it has 1/4-20 studs.

Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin] #181561 10/16/08 08:48 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
A direct connected meter is installed in series with the load.

Re: Ammeter connection [Re: JBD] #181562 10/16/08 10:22 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
-----0-0------- Line 1 --------------load--]
shunt ^
--------------- Neutral or Line 2 ----load-]

Last edited by mikesh; 10/16/08 10:25 AM.
Re: Ammeter connection [Re: mikesh] #181566 10/16/08 10:49 AM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
JValdes Offline
Member
Directly in series with the load. Take one leg of the load and connect it to the meter. Take the other supply leg and connect it to the meter.

Motor - Meter - Line. Example only

Re: Ammeter connection [Re: JValdes] #181579 10/16/08 05:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Ok. I thought that was the case but didn't want to let the smoke out not being sure.

Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Merlin] #181587 10/17/08 02:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
Originally Posted by Merlin
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin

Also, bear in mind that the supply will need to be de-energised while this meter is installed, trying to do a job like this with the power still connected is just silly.

Re: Ammeter connection [Re: Trumpy] #181596 10/17/08 08:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
B
BigB Offline
Member
Funny, just a little while ago I was thinking about those old ammeters we used to have on the dashboards of our cars.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,437
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,607 Are you busy
209,532 Re: Forum
196,895 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3