ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by Fridayrack - 12/07/21 01:30 AM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 12/06/21 06:37 PM
Photo Editing Software?
by Fridayrack - 12/03/21 05:05 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 15 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#181555 10/15/08 10:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,673
Likes: 7
G
Member
Does it have lugs big enough for 4ga wire?


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
If i remember right, it has 1/4-20 studs.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
A direct connected meter is installed in series with the load.

JBD #181562 10/16/08 10:22 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
Member
-----0-0------- Line 1 --------------load--]
shunt ^
--------------- Neutral or Line 2 ----load-]

Last edited by mikesh; 10/16/08 10:25 AM.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
Member
Directly in series with the load. Take one leg of the load and connect it to the meter. Take the other supply leg and connect it to the meter.

Motor - Meter - Line. Example only

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
M
Merlin Offline OP
Member
Ok. I thought that was the case but didn't want to let the smoke out not being sure.

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,412
Likes: 3
Member
Originally Posted by Merlin
I have a 0-75 Ammeter that I need to install. This meter is a direct connection meter that does not require a current transformer. I am not sure of the proper connection this way. I have always previously insatlled the ones with the CT. Can someone give me the right connection procedures. I want to make darn sure that i hook it up right. Thanks, Merlin

Also, bear in mind that the supply will need to be de-energised while this meter is installed, trying to do a job like this with the power still connected is just silly.

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 785
B
Member
Funny, just a little while ago I was thinking about those old ammeters we used to have on the dashboards of our cars.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
286,628 Are you busy
219,101 Re: Forum
205,193 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5