ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,978 Are you busy
175,572 Re: Forum
167,822 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 51 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#179372 - 07/09/08 09:19 PM grounding electrode question  
barbwire  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 17
Hello All, I'm planning on installing a new 200 Amp service to my house in the near future, unfutunately I need to add a new concrete walk on the service side of the house before the service, If I drive down 2 rods 6-7 ft apart, #4 between them and to the panel ,can I cover them with the walk?(no visual inspection possible). leaving them above would become a tripping hazard. Any Ideas?


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#179373 - 07/09/08 09:26 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: barbwire]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
250.68 Grounding Electrode Conductor and Bonding Jumper Connection to Grounding Electrodes.
(A) Accessibility. The connection of a grounding electrode conductor or bonding jumper to a grounding electrode shall be accessible.
Exception: An encased or buried connection to a concrete-encased, driven, or buried grounding electrode shall not be required to be accessible.


Greg Fretwell

#179374 - 07/09/08 09:59 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: gfretwell]  
barbwire  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 17
So an inspector would have no proof that the job was done properly?


#179375 - 07/09/08 10:18 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: barbwire]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
That is always going to be the case with a buried or concrete encased electrode if it was existing when you do the upgrade.
Call the AHJ and see if they will be happy with pictures or pull your permit now and have the GEC inspected on a partial rough. How long will it be before you do the upgrade?


Greg Fretwell

#179376 - 07/09/08 10:32 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: barbwire]  
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Originally Posted by barbwire
So an inspector would have no proof that the job was done properly?


This would fall under the "under ground" inspection.
Meaning it must be inspected before backfilling it.
This is a standard here, perhaps not every where.


#179384 - 07/10/08 09:29 AM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: leland]  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
A question here ....

Would not a Ufer in the walk be a superior grounding electrode to a driven rod - and easier to instal as well?


#179386 - 07/10/08 11:46 AM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: renosteinke]  
Alan Nadon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Elkhart, IN. USA
The sidewalk would need to have a "footer" for a Ufer to be effective. With only a few inches of concrete above it would tend to be in a dry area.
Pull the permit early have the grounding rods and interconnect inspected and approved, then cover with the sidewalk. Make sure to have it noted on the permit or get a copy of the inspection report in case the inspector can't remember or you get a different inspector.
Just a point to remember: If you can make them fit, the ground rods can be installed INSIDE the building. This also elliminates the copper theives from cutting your wire.


Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.

#179399 - 07/10/08 07:49 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: Alan Nadon]  
barbwire  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 17
Thanks for the input, sounds like I need to get this permit pulled earlier than expected, to be on the safe side. Thanks ALL.


#179401 - 07/10/08 08:43 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: barbwire]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
The only downside is since they are out there they might want a permit for the sidewalk. Things are pretty slow down at the building department so they are drumming up business where they can.


Greg Fretwell

#179438 - 07/13/08 06:11 PM Re: grounding electrode question [Re: gfretwell]  
WireNuts29  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 85
Mass, U.S.A.
I'm not sure about the sequence of events in your area. If I pull a permit to change a service. I must have in hand the SER # from the utility, to put on the permit. This is the utilities authorization # to break the seal on the meter. The catch 22 is you have to complete the upgrade within 90 days of pulling the number from utility. upon inspection by local inspector they will reseal meter, and put their crimp on connectors. In your case I'd suggest you pull a permit, and have it inspected for what it is a grounding electrode, leave the service change permit for when you actually do that. make sure you explain to the inspector your intentions. That would be the best course of action in my neck of the woods.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,878
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 16 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8201 MB (Peak: 1.0010 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-20 09:58:06 UTC