ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 5
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,856 Are you busy
175,412 Re: Forum
167,704 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#178929 - 06/16/08 01:47 PM crane safety...  
u2slow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I have a customer that has purchased and installed a 20-ton hydraulic boom crane at the side of a wharf. It was a good deal as it came from an equipment auction.

The wharf is on wooden pilings and it is only rated for 10 tons. eek

To top it off, the hydraulic requirements put us into a 25-30hp power pack. Hmmm... that's expensive eh? So is the 300' of cable to get to get to the nearest 3 phase supply.

What do I tell these people? Is there some magical way to load-limit the crane?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#178931 - 06/16/08 07:49 PM Re: crane safety... [Re: u2slow]  
maintenanceguy  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 300
Southern NJ, USA
Because you touched it last, you'll have some liability if anything goes wrong and that effects the decisions you make.

But if this was my crane and I was hooking it up myself...

Just because the crane's structure can handle 20 tons doesn't mean it has to lift 20 tons. I would say the lifting capacity of the crane is limited by the hp at the hydraulic pump. If your motor can only generate enough hydraulic pressure to lift 10 tons, it simply becomes a 10 ton crane.

Higher lifting force means higher hydraulic pressure. There are lots of hydraulic pressure switches available that could be used as limit switches to shut down the crane if the weight limit was exceeded. Calculating how much pressure produces the lift you want could be tricky though.


#178934 - 06/16/08 10:11 PM Re: crane safety... [Re: maintenanceguy]  
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
I wouldn't even go the pressure switch route because of the liability issues. An adjustable pressure relief or bypass valve would arguably be more reliable.


#178943 - 06/17/08 08:32 AM Re: crane safety... [Re: NJwirenut]  
earlydean  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
Griswold, CT, USA
Do both


Earl

#178948 - 06/17/08 01:43 PM Re: crane safety... [Re: earlydean]  
u2slow  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I thought about undersizing the powerpack, but that's already 90% built. I wouldn't be comfortable with making the judgment over "x horsepower = x ton capacity".

I did talk to a crane company and they make load sensing devices that attach to the winch rope. That made my day... and the project much more viable IMO. smile



Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.011s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7685 MB (Peak: 0.9094 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-16 17:27:33 UTC