ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
crane safety... #178929
06/16/08 01:47 PM
06/16/08 01:47 PM
U
u2slow  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I have a customer that has purchased and installed a 20-ton hydraulic boom crane at the side of a wharf. It was a good deal as it came from an equipment auction.

The wharf is on wooden pilings and it is only rated for 10 tons. eek

To top it off, the hydraulic requirements put us into a 25-30hp power pack. Hmmm... that's expensive eh? So is the 300' of cable to get to get to the nearest 3 phase supply.

What do I tell these people? Is there some magical way to load-limit the crane?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: crane safety... [Re: u2slow] #178931
06/16/08 07:49 PM
06/16/08 07:49 PM
M
maintenanceguy  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 300
Southern NJ, USA
Because you touched it last, you'll have some liability if anything goes wrong and that effects the decisions you make.

But if this was my crane and I was hooking it up myself...

Just because the crane's structure can handle 20 tons doesn't mean it has to lift 20 tons. I would say the lifting capacity of the crane is limited by the hp at the hydraulic pump. If your motor can only generate enough hydraulic pressure to lift 10 tons, it simply becomes a 10 ton crane.

Higher lifting force means higher hydraulic pressure. There are lots of hydraulic pressure switches available that could be used as limit switches to shut down the crane if the weight limit was exceeded. Calculating how much pressure produces the lift you want could be tricky though.

Re: crane safety... [Re: maintenanceguy] #178934
06/16/08 10:11 PM
06/16/08 10:11 PM
N
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
I wouldn't even go the pressure switch route because of the liability issues. An adjustable pressure relief or bypass valve would arguably be more reliable.

Re: crane safety... [Re: NJwirenut] #178943
06/17/08 08:32 AM
06/17/08 08:32 AM
E
earlydean  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
Griswold, CT, USA
Do both


Earl
Re: crane safety... [Re: earlydean] #178948
06/17/08 01:43 PM
06/17/08 01:43 PM
U
u2slow  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
Salt Spring, BC, Canada
I thought about undersizing the powerpack, but that's already 90% built. I wouldn't be comfortable with making the judgment over "x horsepower = x ton capacity".

I did talk to a crane company and they make load sensing devices that attach to the winch rope. That made my day... and the project much more viable IMO. smile


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 95
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,160 Are you busy
185,635 Re: Forum
174,999 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9678 MB (Peak: 1.1070 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-22 14:02:27 UTC