ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
May I backfeed 3 phase transformer?
by dsk - 10/22/21 04:37 AM
Wire sizing
by gfretwell - 10/21/21 10:12 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 13 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#176077 03/19/08 07:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
M
Micmann Offline OP
Member
Looking for insight on a few questions:

Are the feeders for a subpanel sized at the table 316.10 size because the wires are considered branch circuits coming from the main panel?

Example:
200A main panel single phase
100A subpanel
75 degree rated lugs
SER from main panel to sub panel
Given the loads for the sub panel are an unknown mix of continuous and non continuous I would suppose sizing at 100% continuous.
Am I correct the cable would need to be #1 copper or 2/0 aluminum because 125% of 100A puts me there or am I oversizing?

Second:
200A breaker in 1600A main switchgear three phase 120/208
200A subpanel three phase
Conduit run to subpanel
Again unsure of continuous vs non-continuous
I assume needing to size at 100% continuous
Would I need 250kcmil copper, or could I go smaller because I thought there was a three phase multiplier to reduce the needed amperage size. Or again am I missing something and oversizing?

Thanks for the help.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
The breaker is sized to protect the wire is a a good way to look at it. How did you come about for #1 wire for an 100 amp panel? on a 100 amp panel a #3 usually is required. #1 is for 125 amp panel I do believe without looking at 316.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
M
Micmann Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the reply Sparky.

A #3 is good for 100 amps at 75 degrees, but don't i have to size the wire with continuous load figured in? 100a x 1.25= 125a. Needing a #1 good for 130a. Or am I going about this wrong?

Thanks

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,668
Likes: 6
G
Member
Mic Short answer ... no. This is a feeder. 310.16 is fine at 100% and you could even use the round up rule (240.4(B)). #3 is 100a so it is a perfect fit on a 100a feeder (no rounding). As a design issue you might not want to "round up" but generally you have pretty good diversity in residential feeders.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
Micmann, if it's feeding a panel, it's a feeder circuit, and not a branch circuit. Not much difference, but enough little things to make it a real pain in the *** sometimes.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
M
Micmann Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the clarification. I’ve been sizing them as feeders, but something in the back of my mind kept saying just check to make sure I was doing it right.

Mic.

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
Member
3 #3s and 1 #8. Four wire feeder. Seperate grounds and neutrals. Bond ground bus to electrodes and metal piping if available. If this is unattached you need a main breaker in the sub. If attached you can use a lug panel.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 7
Popular Topics(Views)
284,804 Are you busy
217,379 Re: Forum
203,721 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5