ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
Black & Decker Recalls Hammer Drills
by Admin. 11/01/18 07:22 PM
Having around 30 projectors to dump
by gfretwell. 10/31/18 10:54 PM
Installing a small swimming pool
by TimothyHallam. 10/30/18 10:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 35 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1758
05/25/01 11:00 PM
05/25/01 11:00 PM
S
smokey  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 41
cctxusa
i recently went on a job with a fellow electrician who did not pull an equipment ground through emt that fed some building signs i suggested that we pull a ground to ground our boxes etc. i know that we are not required by code to pull a ground through emt. but i still wanted to pull one just to be safe. i mean what if one of the fittings came loose ? we would lose our ground.i let him talk me out of pulling a groun. what would u guys have done???

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1759
05/26/01 06:39 AM
05/26/01 06:39 AM
C
C.Urch  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 36
Kill Devil Hills, NC USA
Make sure all my fittings were tight.

Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1760
05/26/01 09:04 AM
05/26/01 09:04 AM
sparky66wv  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
West Virginia
I always pull a "redundant" ground wire, Even in IMC and GRC. Maybe you can call it a "pull wire" in case of future pulls?


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1761
05/26/01 03:19 PM
05/26/01 03:19 PM
S
sparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,371
i'll second that !
[Linked Image]

Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1762
05/27/01 12:09 PM
05/27/01 12:09 PM
Bill Addiss  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,903
NY, USA
smokey,

I would've liked to see a ground pulled too. Especially if we're talking outside with compression fittings. I never could trust them to be tight because many people would not take the time or effort. The whole problem with this has to do with proper workmanship and maintenance and the fact that it can't be guaranteed.

Bill

[This message has been edited by Bill Addiss (edited 05-29-2001).]

Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1763
05/27/01 03:59 PM
05/27/01 03:59 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
I pull in an equipment ground in almost all the conduit I run. I usually omit the equipment ground in the conduit that serves high bay lighting.

Like most electricians, I've seen too many fittings pulled apart & the public doesn't realize that the conduit is also the ground.

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1764
05/28/01 08:12 AM
05/28/01 08:12 AM
Scott35  Offline

Broom Pusher and
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,708
Anaheim, CA. USA
Agreeing with the others, I feel that it's a great thing to install an EGC with EMT runs.
Just makes the whole thing a lot more solid for ground faults.

BTW, on sign circuits - especially ones for neon signs, it would be something that really needs to be installed, simply for the center tap grounded secondary on neon transformers.
The newer ones I have seen have GFP, which looks like it will not function correctly without a solid ground bond [solid being lowest voltage].

Just my thoughts.

Scott SET


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1765
05/29/01 08:11 PM
05/29/01 08:11 PM
S
smokey  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 41
cctxusa
thanks for the opinions . next time i will stand my ground on the issue. i mean, whats a little extra wire gonna cost? i'd rather be safe than sorry. i agree it could serve as a good pull wire later!!!

Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1766
05/30/01 08:27 AM
05/30/01 08:27 AM
W
WARREN1  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 176
Greenville, SC, USA
I agree with all who pull the ground wire. We in the design always specify a groune conductor in all raceways. The elctrician who does not install one is looking for a liability lawsuit if someone get hurt or killed. We don't need that in this industry. Again this is a good BB. Thanks.

Re: equipment ground to pull or not to pull #1767
05/30/01 09:40 PM
05/30/01 09:40 PM
S
STEVE  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 16
PATCHOGUE, NY, USA
I, too am for a seperate equipment grounding conductor. In all conduit work I think it should be an automatic. In residential work I find the ground wire from the romex cables not properly grounded to 1900 boxes and or Gem boxes. You find a lot of guys use the 8/32 screw on the top of the boxes, and then install the blank cover, instead of using a green grounding screw and thread it into the boxes. I wish that 4" square box manufactures would come out with a box with a tail already on the box. This would force guys to do it right. Grounding's a great topic. Take care----Steve T.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,383 Are you busy
188,621 Re: Forum
178,325 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.033s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0258 MB (Peak: 1.2031 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-12 22:30:30 UTC