ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 19 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
cat 5 conduit fill #175084 02/22/08 12:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
W
wacked Offline OP
Member
I don't have my code book handy at the moment but does anybody know the table to use for calculating cat 5 fill in a conduit? I came across this tonight while scoping out a job. ( 10 cat 5 in a one inch conduit )

Tools for Electricians:
Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: wacked] #175085 02/22/08 12:49 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
How many pullers and how much lube do you have on hand?

Sorry. my silly side came out. But some truth to it.

I've no idea, not even sure if it's in the book.

Sorry again, Not much going on tonight for me.:)

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: leland] #175086 02/22/08 01:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
H
homer Offline
Member
Wacked,
Data conduits often live by there own rules, but as I recall, 10 cables need about a 1-1/2 conduit, junction boxes every 100 feet and after every two 90 degree bends. Im fairly sure that there is somebody out there who is much smarter than I am who can quote the source. If you have to pull the cables, they pull hard unless they are a slick finish on the jacket. Try Google.
Good luck,
Larry

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: homer] #175095 02/22/08 11:12 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 183
J
jay8 Offline
Member
What you are probably refering to is TIA/EIA 568B Standards. Try putting this post on the voice/data section, and you will get your information.

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: jay8] #175097 02/22/08 11:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 81
G
ggardiner Offline
Member
According to a conduit capacity calculator from ADC/Krone 7 Typical 4-PR @ac .25" OD. in a one inch conduit. This would assume no more then 40% fill to allow for reasonable pull.

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: ggardiner] #175119 02/22/08 10:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
W
wacked Offline OP
Member
ggardiner, have you got an online link to this? Does the 40% rule apply???

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: wacked] #175130 02/23/08 01:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 265
S
Sixer Offline
Member
Today we completed a job of installing conduits and cat3 cables for the hospital. Telus and the IT department wanted required 4" EMT with four 100 pair cables pulled in. This was 40% fill.


Sixer

"Will it be cheaper if I drill the holes for you?"
Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: wacked] #175243 02/25/08 05:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 81
G
ggardiner Offline
Member
No what I have is a disc calculator that ADC gave me during a course on design I took from them two years ago.

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: ggardiner] #175300 02/26/08 12:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
M
mikesh Offline
Member
I answered this in the other place you asked. 12-1014 Give the rules for wire fill in raceways and the type of load has no bearing. %40 for more than 2 cables up to 200 cables max.

Re: cat 5 conduit fill [Re: mikesh] #175317 02/26/08 09:15 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 247
T
techie Offline
Member


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,531 Are you busy
209,423 Re: Forum
196,814 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3