ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 12/01/20 03:44 AM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:12 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:04 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:00 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer #174547 02/07/08 09:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Theelectrikid Offline OP
Member
Well, of course, on my family's 2007 Emachines PC running Windas Veesta, the included McAfee virus software is out of date. So, with Windas and my parents bugging me to update it, I decide to do so, using the free McAfee anti-everything suite Comcast provides.

Yeah, right.

I go to Comcast's site, log in and go to the anti-virus download page. It says to uninstall any existing anti-virus software on the computer before proceeding, so I do, and uninstall the old McAfee and restart.

BIG mistake. Naturally I now click "Download now" and get an error saying I cannot download it. I think the windows shattered when I yelled at the sight of that error. First they say I need to uninstall the old to install the new, then they tell me, after I've removed the old software, that I can't download the new one. Neither of our email accounts will work with it.

This all happened yesterday, and I told my mother to stay off the shut-down computer. Well, I guess she didn't tell my father, as he turned it on today while I was at school and went on his favorite motorcycle website. Can anyone say "Infected?" With what I don't know, but now Windas is going crazy with alerts, and nothing on the computer works at all. (Maybe next time I'll steal the power cord too.)

Oh well, now we have to go to Best Buy and buy a new AV program, when we're supposed to have one free. And I have to erase/reinstall Windows. (And then remove all the bloatware the restore discs install...) Well, I was going to a friend's 16th-birthday party this weekend.

Was.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Tools for Electricians:
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: Theelectrikid] #174554 02/08/08 01:48 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,546
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
Why do you think he is infected. I have been running without AV protection for years. I am just very careful about what I download and what I open. Occasionally I do a full system virus scan and it never finds anything.
I have a couple spyware programs but when I stopped taking cookies it doesn't find much either

I found McAfee WAS a virus. My system crashed more than Evel Kinevel when it was running in the background.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: gfretwell] #174555 02/08/08 02:02 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
I'm surprised that you couldn't just update within the program itself... Generally, it's set to do this automatically; maybe someone who doesn't speak computer disabled the auto-update?

You could use something like housecall (http://housecall.trendmicro.com/) to check for viruses before installing the new AV. If you're not comfortable using MacAfee anymore, you could go with AVG, which is free. I use the corporate version of MacAfee VirusScan and haven't had many problems with it, other than it blocking my email--but I have a university IT department who fixed that for me.

Before I had the free software through the uni, I used PC-Cilin and had no problems with it. It was way simpler to use and almost totally unobtrusive (except for the scheduled full-disk scans).

Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: Theelectrikid] #174597 02/08/08 06:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
A
andyenglish Offline
Member
I agree with a previous post that AVG is the way to go. McAfee is a terrible program and don't even bother trying to get help from them. Once they have your money you get the voicemail... Try adding the COMODO firewall. It's free too. And both programs will let you know when updates are available. Plus be careful where you surf..
Cheers,
Andy


It's always easier to get forgiveness than it is to get permission.
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: gfretwell] #174598 02/08/08 06:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Theelectrikid Offline OP
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Why do you think he is infected. I have been running without AV protection for years.


Their online scanner found a few "bad guys" on it.

Quote
I found McAfee WAS a virus. My system crashed more than Evel Kinevel when it was running in the background.


I gotta agree there, but I'm just following orders.

Originally Posted by noderaser
I'm surprised that you couldn't just update within the program itself... Generally, it's set to do this automatically; maybe someone who doesn't speak computer disabled the auto-update?


I was going from 2007 came-with-PC McAfee to 2008 Comcast-provided McAfee, couldn't find how to bridge the gap.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: Theelectrikid] #174605 02/08/08 10:30 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
R
rlc3854 Offline
Member
Can't you just go to a previous restore point?

Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: rlc3854] #174607 02/08/08 11:40 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline
Member
With Vista, it would be a safe bet that the Windows OS itself is probably more than just a little at fault here as well. Especially with all the uninstalled critical patches and updates MS has out there since Vista's release.
I also switched from McAfee to AVG 7.5 Anti-Virus Plus Firewall two years ago and haven’t regretted it. Much better program than McAfee, less expensive license, simple interface, smaller update file downloads and less system resources tied up which means a faster computer and no obnoxious AV related crashes to deal with.

Isn’t it possible to restore the last known good configuration of Windows through the startup utility?

Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: KJay] #174608 02/09/08 12:17 AM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Theelectrikid Offline OP
Member
I wiped the hard drive and reinstalled Vista earlier, minus the old McAfee and all the other bloatware. Installed the free AVG 7.5 and their free spyware program. This computer runs faster than it did new.

I've had such headaches with the restore-to-previous-time feature I deleted it from the start menu.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: Theelectrikid] #174611 02/09/08 01:05 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,546
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I am not an XP guy, I still use 98SE on my machines but I have fixed a lot of problems for other people with the system restore.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Mcafee + Comcast = One dead computer [Re: Theelectrikid] #174613 02/09/08 01:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
noderaser Offline
Member
Originally Posted by Theelectrikid
I've had such headaches with the restore-to-previous-time feature I deleted it from the start menu.


If you're not going to use system restore, you can disable it in System Properties (at least in ME-2K-XP, not sure where it's located in Vista) and you will free up a hefty chunk (usually 5-10%) of hard drive space.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,218
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,155 Are you busy
206,034 Re: Forum
194,056 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3