ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
Inspection camera help
by Bill Addiss. 09/15/18 11:32 AM
Tingle off the water spigot
by Trumpy. 09/15/18 03:24 AM
Lighting Load questions
by HotLine1. 09/14/18 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
4-20ma Pressure Transmitter #173914
01/22/08 10:54 PM
01/22/08 10:54 PM
C
Cinner  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 78
Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Does anyone have any industrial experience with pressure transmitters. My question is this: If the voltage is 10 - 30 V DC and the output is 4-20ma, would this require 4 wires to connect( 2 for the voltage and 2 for the 4-20ma output). Can the transmitter run on only 2 wires?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 4-20ma Pressure Transmitter [Re: Cinner] #173915
01/22/08 11:07 PM
01/22/08 11:07 PM
B
bigrockk  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 174
Middle of Canada
Yes it can work with only two wires. This is fairly common.

Positive transducer lead to positive of power supply. Negative of power supply to negative side of "load" . Positive side of load to negative lead on transducer.
So essentially it is just a loop.

The load could be many things such as a plc controller a meter or readout of some type etc.

Last edited by bigrockk; 01/22/08 11:15 PM. Reason: To add more info
Re: 4-20ma Pressure Transmitter [Re: bigrockk] #173952
01/23/08 03:44 PM
01/23/08 03:44 PM
N
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
4-20 mA control loops are very common in industrial control gear. In the 2-wire configuration, the transmitter is actually powered by the voltage drop across it.

A good introduction to current loop sensors here:

http://www.datel.com/data/meters/dms-an20.pdf


Re: 4-20ma Pressure Transmitter [Re: NJwirenut] #173973
01/24/08 12:06 PM
01/24/08 12:06 PM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
How many terminals do you have on the transducer? And do you have the wiring diagram for it? Normally you will have an input 2 wires (10-30vdc) and an output 2 wires (4-20ma). Two in. Two out. No common. To test the output MA, put meter in series with one output conductor. Use the MA setting on the meter. Depending on how sensitive you need this, you may need to adjust the DC input or if provided the adjustment screw on the transducer.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
sparky 11
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,261 Are you busy
187,184 Re: Forum
176,537 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9603 MB (Peak: 1.0932 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-18 13:37:28 UTC