ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Ho-Made power strip #173293
01/07/08 12:47 AM
01/07/08 12:47 AM
Lostazhell  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
I found this one in an older control building, in a quasi server room/lunch room/place to get out of the weather in the middle of nowhere... The outlet this was plugged into was tapped off a 30A breaker if I remember right eek

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]




2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: Lostazhell] #173294
01/07/08 12:53 AM
01/07/08 12:53 AM
F
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
Randy
tell me that if i am reading on the one device on far left is that surge surpresser ??

jezz, sound like someone came up stupid idea with this and where is GFCI for this ??

Merci, Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: frenchelectrican] #173299
01/07/08 02:22 AM
01/07/08 02:22 AM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,334
Alaska
The surge supressor is the unlucky sap who gets shocked by it. crazy


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: sparkyinak] #173311
01/07/08 12:06 PM
01/07/08 12:06 PM
M
mamills  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
Wharton, Texas, USA
Randy: I assume that the loose "quad whip" (for lack of any better term) is connected to the box with the yellow supply cord as well.

My suggestion would be to cut the cord off, and toss the whole affair out into the weather and leave it there for about 30 years or so and watch it slowly disintegrate. It sure ain't good for anything else.

Then go after whoever put the outlet on a 30.

Mike (mamills)

Last edited by mamills; 01/07/08 12:08 PM.
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: mamills] #173321
01/07/08 05:18 PM
01/07/08 05:18 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Quite an interesting DIY project!

Let me 'reverse guess' the thoughts that went into making this.

The main plate / flange has mounting holes .... so I suspect that it was originally made to mount on one of those electronic gear racks / cabinets. Mind you, finding a factory-made strip that mounts on the rack hasn't always been easy. Ordinary outlet strips are deliberately designed to make secure mounting difficult.

Then there's the orientation of the receptacles. With the number of things that have 'wall wart' transformers serving as plugs, it's hard to find a power strip that doesn't lose three spaces whenever you plug in one!

The variety of parts suggests that whoever made this scavenged parts, maybe even brought some from home.The coating of whit paint is an .... interesting .... touch.

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: renosteinke] #173323
01/07/08 06:39 PM
01/07/08 06:39 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Wow, a 16 outlet plug strip, with 4 extra outlets! Where do I get one? laugh

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: Theelectrikid] #173337
01/07/08 10:09 PM
01/07/08 10:09 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
RBS 24 and some good old hack ingenuity mad http://www.erico.com/products/CADDYcfcBxMntngBrckts.asp

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: electure] #173338
01/07/08 10:19 PM
01/07/08 10:19 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
Hey electure - good link. I didnt know those existed.

I should show you guys my 50a 250v power strip.... Its a beast!


~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: electure] #173345
01/08/08 12:05 AM
01/08/08 12:05 AM
L
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Originally Posted by electure
RBS 24 and some good old hack ingenuity mad http://www.erico.com/products/CADDYcfcBxMntngBrckts.asp


I think you nailed it.

They found it, and used it.

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: TOOL_5150] #173347
01/08/08 12:16 AM
01/08/08 12:16 AM
Theelectrikid  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Originally Posted by TOOL_5150
Hey electure - good link. I didnt know those existed.



Hmm, if Randy wasn't in CA I'd say it was probably made by the former owner of this house!

Quote
I should show you guys my 50a 250v power strip.... Its a beast!


A friend's father down in trailerville had a contraption like that for his holiday decorations, 50amp stove cord jammed into two screwed together 4sq boxes w/ 5-15s. He got rid of it after the meter reader came out, found the future fire and called for a disconnect. (This was before PECO got around to putting remote-read meters in that section.)

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,145
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,157 Are you busy
185,628 Re: Forum
174,988 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0283 MB (Peak: 1.2107 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-22 05:10:22 UTC