ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Ho-Made power strip #173293 01/06/08 11:47 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Lostazhell Offline OP
Member
I found this one in an older control building, in a quasi server room/lunch room/place to get out of the weather in the middle of nowhere... The outlet this was plugged into was tapped off a 30A breaker if I remember right eek

[Linked Image from electricalphotos.com]

[Linked Image from electricalphotos.com]




2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: Lostazhell] #173294 01/06/08 11:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
Randy
tell me that if i am reading on the one device on far left is that surge surpresser ??

jezz, sound like someone came up stupid idea with this and where is GFCI for this ??

Merci, Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: frenchelectrican] #173299 01/07/08 01:22 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
sparkyinak Offline
Member
The surge supressor is the unlucky sap who gets shocked by it. crazy


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: sparkyinak] #173311 01/07/08 11:06 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 745
M
mamills Offline
Member
Randy: I assume that the loose "quad whip" (for lack of any better term) is connected to the box with the yellow supply cord as well.

My suggestion would be to cut the cord off, and toss the whole affair out into the weather and leave it there for about 30 years or so and watch it slowly disintegrate. It sure ain't good for anything else.

Then go after whoever put the outlet on a 30.

Mike (mamills)

Last edited by mamills; 01/07/08 11:08 AM.
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: mamills] #173321 01/07/08 04:18 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Quite an interesting DIY project!

Let me 'reverse guess' the thoughts that went into making this.

The main plate / flange has mounting holes .... so I suspect that it was originally made to mount on one of those electronic gear racks / cabinets. Mind you, finding a factory-made strip that mounts on the rack hasn't always been easy. Ordinary outlet strips are deliberately designed to make secure mounting difficult.

Then there's the orientation of the receptacles. With the number of things that have 'wall wart' transformers serving as plugs, it's hard to find a power strip that doesn't lose three spaces whenever you plug in one!

The variety of parts suggests that whoever made this scavenged parts, maybe even brought some from home.The coating of whit paint is an .... interesting .... touch.

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: renosteinke] #173323 01/07/08 05:39 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Theelectrikid Offline
Member
Wow, a 16 outlet plug strip, with 4 extra outlets! Where do I get one? laugh

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: Theelectrikid] #173337 01/07/08 09:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,287
electure Offline
Member
RBS 24 and some good old hack ingenuity mad http://www.erico.com/products/CADDYcfcBxMntngBrckts.asp

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: electure] #173338 01/07/08 09:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
TOOL_5150 Offline
Member
Hey electure - good link. I didnt know those existed.

I should show you guys my 50a 250v power strip.... Its a beast!


~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.
Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: electure] #173345 01/07/08 11:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
L
leland Offline
Member
Originally Posted by electure
RBS 24 and some good old hack ingenuity mad http://www.erico.com/products/CADDYcfcBxMntngBrckts.asp


I think you nailed it.

They found it, and used it.

Re: Ho-Made power strip [Re: TOOL_5150] #173347 01/07/08 11:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Theelectrikid Offline
Member
Originally Posted by TOOL_5150
Hey electure - good link. I didnt know those existed.



Hmm, if Randy wasn't in CA I'd say it was probably made by the former owner of this house!

Quote
I should show you guys my 50a 250v power strip.... Its a beast!


A friend's father down in trailerville had a contraption like that for his holiday decorations, 50amp stove cord jammed into two screwed together 4sq boxes w/ 5-15s. He got rid of it after the meter reader came out, found the future fire and called for a disconnect. (This was before PECO got around to putting remote-read meters in that section.)

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,379
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,675 Are you busy
209,594 Re: Forum
196,946 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3