ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
by HotLine1. 03/20/18 07:33 AM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
AFCI ,loop hole? #173250
01/06/08 11:56 AM
01/06/08 11:56 AM
leland  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
I put this on another site as well,Thought I'ld try it here too.
Just a twist:

210.12.(B)- Arc fault-For dwelling units, straight forward.

210.18-Guest suites and guest rooms.
If they have permenant cooking (kitchen) they fall under "dwelling unit".210.12.(B). Understood.

Now, forward to 210.60-guest suites,dorms etc.assuming no "kitchen"provisions.
It only states to be in accordance with 210.52.
But 210.52 or 210.60, makes no referance back to 210.12(B).

So, My question is: In a guest suite,dorm rm etc.(210.60) With no "kitchen",
Do these ckts require AFCI?

I see a loop hole. Or is it tunnel vision?

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: leland] #173256
01/06/08 03:25 PM
01/06/08 03:25 PM
Tom  Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
Appears to me that there is no loop to have a hole in. 210.52 and 210.60 deals with the placement of receptacle outlets and 210.12 deals with the protection of all outlets and the branch circuit conductors. Two different animals IMO.

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: Tom] #173267
01/06/08 06:51 PM
01/06/08 06:51 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
You don't need to look that hard ....

Would you like to continue to use 'skinny' breakers? Would you like to never have to install an AFCI? Then simply use 10 amp breakers .... the requirement only applies to 15 and 20 amp circuits.

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: renosteinke] #173289
01/07/08 12:23 AM
01/07/08 12:23 AM
gfretwell  Offline

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,185
Even if the AHJ went along with the 10 thing you would still need more circuits to get the 3va/sqft. Wire, breakers and labor would eat any saving you had from the AFCI savings

Greg Fretwell
Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: gfretwell] #173303
01/07/08 07:48 AM
01/07/08 07:48 AM
SteveFehr  Offline
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
We just need to get manufacturers to make 19-amp breakers. Problem solved!

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: SteveFehr] #173327
01/07/08 07:42 PM
01/07/08 07:42 PM
electure  Offline

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,265
Fullerton, CA USA
What kind of receptacle do you propose to put on the 10 Amp or 19 Amp breaker?

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: electure] #173339
01/07/08 10:46 PM
01/07/08 10:46 PM
NORCAL  Offline
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 878
Do they even make a 10A twin breaker? Do not think useing them is such a hot idea,myself (10A breakers)

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: NORCAL] #173340
01/07/08 11:02 PM
01/07/08 11:02 PM
leland  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
I guess my point was...

That bedrooms are the reasoning behind this rediculouse AFCI crap to begin with.

But in rooms with no other purpose except to sleep, not required.
Does this not seem strange?

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: leland] #173409
01/09/08 12:03 PM
01/09/08 12:03 PM
Zapped  Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 482
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
The whole thing seems strange, IMHO. We've been putting AFCI breakers on REC circuits to bedrooms for years.

Is arcing really a plague that required this type of regulation? I've been in this business for 12+ years, in all facets of comercial, residential, and industrial. I haven't seen a need for such a code change. Maybe I've been lucky and limited in my experience.

Re: AFCI ,loop hole? [Re: Zapped] #173430
01/09/08 05:52 PM
01/09/08 05:52 PM
KJay  Offline
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
No AFCI required for dorm rooms?
What happens when Biff captures the rival football teams mascot goat, hides him in the dorm and the goat partially chews through one of the half dozen six-foot 18/2 extension cords connected together that run under the braided rug to the other end of the dorm room where the lava lamp, stereo, TV, DVD player, Mac notebook and mini-frig are plugged in? grin

Page 1 of 2 1 2


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Trumpy 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,416 Are you busy
181,531 Re: Forum
171,584 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0251 MB (Peak: 1.2059 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-20 17:22:59 UTC