ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
EMC Glands on Motors
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 06:12 AM
Ground Rods: Installation and Hook-Up
by Trumpy - 12/01/22 05:54 AM
Happy Thanksgiving all!
by gfretwell - 11/30/22 05:55 PM
Colt Firearms Switchbox
by NORCAL - 11/29/22 01:04 AM
Perfect work light?
by gfretwell - 11/22/22 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 69 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#1729 05/23/01 10:15 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2
M
Junior Member
I have a hallway light that won't turn on. When I took a reading I have only 48V at the switch when I should have 120V, of course. It's probably something simple, but to someone who don't know. Any Ideas?

#1730 05/23/01 01:03 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
>I have a hallway light that won't turn on. When I took a reading I have only 48V at the switch
It's wired to your phone line instead of your electric line.

#1731 05/23/01 02:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
mechcmdr;
do you mean you have 120V going into, and 48V coming out of(to the light) the switch?

if so can the switch...

Dspark,
if that were true, he could dial his own number for some lights!
[Linked Image]

#1732 05/23/01 02:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,080
Likes: 3
Member
mechcmdr,

Where are you putting the test leads when you get 48v?

Bill


Bill
#1733 05/23/01 02:40 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
>do you mean you have 120V going into, and 48V coming out of(to the light) the switch?
If that were true, wouldn't the light at least be glowing yellow?

Bill is onto something about lead placement.
Is something else running on the circuit that is working?

I would measure DC voltage and see whether it is -48. If so, it's a phone line.

My recommendation is to replace the bulb (with 60 watts or less, of course).


[This message has been edited by Dspark (edited 05-23-2001).]

#1734 05/23/01 03:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
mechcmdr,
What type of meter are you using?
Don(resqcapt19)


Don(resqcapt19)
#1735 05/25/01 11:13 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2
M
Junior Member
I took the reading across the hot and common on the switch. I'm using a Wavetek volt/ohm meter. So I am guessing I have 48V coming to the switch. I took a reading on a few of the other light swithches in the house for reference and I got 120V on them and of course I get 0V when I turn on the light. And no, It's not phone wire.

#1736 05/26/01 12:00 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
>I took the reading across the hot and common on the switch.

That won't necessarily work.

You need to measure between the line and a ground.

It sounds like perhaps an open neutral on the circuit.

Your problem is NOT low voltage.


[This message has been edited by Dspark (edited 05-26-2001).]

#1737 05/26/01 06:45 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 36
C
Member
Like DSPARK says, you need to read between the common and ground. Sounds like it is a 3-way switch which may have gone bad.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,289
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
NORCAL 5
Popular Topics(Views)
300,397 Are you busy
230,038 Re: Forum
214,835 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5