ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
5-pair 110 connecting block #173067 01/01/08 06:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline OP
Member
I would like to use two 5-pair 110-connecting blocks with both data and POTS. Four pairs of each connector block being used for two data jacks and the two slate pairs to provide two separate POTS lines [phone & fax] in the same location using three 4-pair CAT5e cables, leaving two pair unused. Does this sound as if it would be acceptable or would data interference and crosstalk be a problem.

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: KJay] #173069 01/01/08 07:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
It's not the best way to do it, but there's no reason why you can't. 110 hardware is rated for CAT5 performance at a minimum and at all terminals.

Personally, I'd terminate all cables on separate four-pair clips and just manage my cross-connecting accordingly. That way you aren't committing to an "all or nothing" wiring infrastructure. Flexibility is the key to doing it right.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: EV607797] #173079 01/02/08 12:56 AM
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
K
KJay Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the reply Ed,
I’ve never done it this way before, so thought I would ask and save some potential headaches.
There are only two slots available on the wiring block and a big problem to add on, otherwise I would do things a lot differently.

Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: KJay] #173089 01/02/08 11:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,543
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I may just be old school but I like 66 blocks for phone and 110 for data. It does make it fast to isolate the various runs if they home run to the 66 and get punched on different rows with bridging clips separating each from the bussed "line" side. (Punched with the "no cut" end of the tool).


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,046 Are you busy
205,943 Re: Forum
193,992 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3