ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Electrical services in the South Puget Sound
by cambridgeelectri. 01/22/19 02:33 AM
LED retrofit flickers
by rmiell. 01/18/19 08:49 PM
Israel
by Texas_Ranger. 01/14/19 07:12 AM
Free Code class in Maryland 1/16/2019
by Admin. 01/12/19 05:43 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by RODALCO. 01/12/19 02:37 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
5-pair 110 connecting block #173067
01/01/08 06:59 PM
01/01/08 06:59 PM
K
KJay  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
I would like to use two 5-pair 110-connecting blocks with both data and POTS. Four pairs of each connector block being used for two data jacks and the two slate pairs to provide two separate POTS lines [phone & fax] in the same location using three 4-pair CAT5e cables, leaving two pair unused. Does this sound as if it would be acceptable or would data interference and crosstalk be a problem.

Study Guides for VDV / Structured Cabling Installers

Voice, Data, Video, (VDV) Fiber Optics, Communications, Low Voltage,
Fire Alarm, Electronic Security Systems Installations & Related

NTC Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides
Low Voltage Training & NICET Exam Study Guides

Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: KJay] #173069
01/01/08 07:50 PM
01/01/08 07:50 PM
E
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
It's not the best way to do it, but there's no reason why you can't. 110 hardware is rated for CAT5 performance at a minimum and at all terminals.

Personally, I'd terminate all cables on separate four-pair clips and just manage my cross-connecting accordingly. That way you aren't committing to an "all or nothing" wiring infrastructure. Flexibility is the key to doing it right.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: EV607797] #173079
01/02/08 12:56 AM
01/02/08 12:56 AM
K
KJay  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
Thanks for the reply Ed,
I’ve never done it this way before, so thought I would ask and save some potential headaches.
There are only two slots available on the wiring block and a big problem to add on, otherwise I would do things a lot differently.

Re: 5-pair 110 connecting block [Re: KJay] #173089
01/02/08 11:44 AM
01/02/08 11:44 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,335
Estero,Fl,usa
I may just be old school but I like 66 blocks for phone and 110 for data. It does make it fast to isolate the various runs if they home run to the 66 and get punched on different rows with bridging clips separating each from the bussed "line" side. (Punched with the "no cut" end of the tool).


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 4
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
252,810 Are you busy
189,612 Re: Forum
179,274 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9636 MB (Peak: 1.0970 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-01-22 13:04:22 UTC