ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
doc 3
Admin 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,938 Are you busy
175,524 Re: Forum
167,787 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (doc), 61 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#172084 - 12/12/07 09:23 AM Voltage Performance recorder  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Whats a good priced voltage performance monitor, line recorder, power quality data logger, etc.

I need just a simple one, as inexpensive as possible. If you know the estimated price that would be great too. Thanks.

Probably will only get used once in a blue moon.

** From looking real quickly this is what I have found at about $500.
http://www.idealindustries.com/prod...y_meters/voltage_performance_monitor.jsp

I'm not sure if thats what I need. I would like to log the service of a medium size office.

Last edited by Trick440; 12/12/07 09:35 AM.

Shake n Bake

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#172096 - 12/13/07 08:31 AM Re: Voltage Performance recorder [Re: Trick440]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,857
Brick, NJ USA
Trick:
I use(d) the Amprobe Digimatic....Voltage, amperage, time.
No printout, all digital with battery b/u.
Unit has CT's and voltage clip-ons, and requires 120 volt power to plug-in.

I still have it. Send me a PM or e-mail if you are interested.


John

#172123 - 12/14/07 09:38 AM Re: Voltage Performance recorder [Re: Trick440]  
KJay  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 763
MA, USA
Trick440,

From what I can gather from the downloaded instruction manual, it looks like that Ideal unit may only be good for single phase, maybe even only an individual branch circuit. I think you would need to be able to monitor all phases at once to get an accurate account of what is happening in a commercial setting.
I have been looking around for a new PQ meter myself and so far, the one that offers the most features and bang for the buck is the Extech 382090.
At $1995.00 it is full featured, can log up to 20,000 readings, shows PF and 1-27 harmonics. It also comes complete with four current clamps for true 3-phase monitoring, a set of standard alligator test leads, carrying case, batteries and software for downloading data to your computer. The software is an important item, because you really have to be able to print out and show the test results to the customer. Especially if you are going to make recommendations for expensive changes to be made.
All the new Fluke units I have looked at are well over $4000.00. That is just too much for a small company to purchase just for occasional use. I think this may be why many electrical contractors leave this type of work to others who specialize in the PQ field. smile
Regards



Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7541 MB (Peak: 0.8777 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 11:26:39 UTC