ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by gfretwell. 11/16/18 01:45 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
How does PSE&G determine service requirements #171954
12/09/07 01:45 PM
12/09/07 01:45 PM
W
Walter  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Passaic, New Jersey
Hi to all,
I'm dealing with a 3phase, ungrounded, system. The owner has a private submeter and wants to install a PSE&G meter. He says his meter shows about 800 to 2000 kwh per month. He currently has a 200A, 3phase service, but PSE tells him that with those numbers he's giving them, he will need a 2500A Service! Can someone explaing their method of determing service required? Thanks, Walter

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: How does PSE&G determine service requirements [Re: Walter] #171959
12/09/07 03:45 PM
12/09/07 03:45 PM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
Alaska
Welcome to the message board. Unless there is a massive load, I do not see the need for such a huge service. I think somewhere someone got a number twisted somewhere. You may want to contact them to find out. I presuming that it a 208 volts service which equates to an average of only 7.7 amps an hour.


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: How does PSE&G determine service requirements [Re: sparkyinak] #171961
12/09/07 05:06 PM
12/09/07 05:06 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Check this out for starters: See chapter 7. There is a load data sheet.

http://www.pseg.com/customer/business/new_service/pdf/RequirementsElecSvc2005.pdf

They will look at the information you fill in, and apply demand factors.

At least that is my experience.

Hotline would probably be able to provide some insight into PSE&G

Last edited by Redsy; 12/09/07 05:07 PM.
Re: How does PSE&G determine service requirements [Re: Redsy] #171963
12/09/07 06:10 PM
12/09/07 06:10 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,038
Brick, NJ USA
Walter:
Welcome to ECN; another 'Jersey Guy'!!

OK, as Redsy said, you have to provide an "ESI" form to PSE&G for requesting electrical service.

That said, some of your info above don't 'register' right with me.

"I'm dealing with a 3phase, ungrounded, system. The owner has a private submeter and wants to install a PSE&G meter. He says his meter shows about 800 to 2000 kwh per month. He currently has a 200A, 3phase service, but PSE tells him that with those numbers he's giving them, he will need a 2500A Service! Can someone explaing their method of determing service required? Thanks, Walter"

Where is the electric service coming from now? A 'private submeter' has to be coming from a utility source, unless there is a private source of energy.

Perhaps, based on the address/block-lot you gave PSE&G, there is an existing PSE&G service and meter?? Maybe your client wants to 'add a meter' to an existing service??

Based on "3phase, ungrounded, system.", what is the voltage? 230 volt, 3 phase, 3 wire? 460 volt, 3 phase, 3 wire? Sounds like an old 'factory district'.

PS office is in Clifton for your area; marketing is in Secaucus last I heard.


John
Re: How does PSE&G determine service requirements [Re: Walter] #171984
12/10/07 08:33 AM
12/10/07 08:33 AM
W
Walter  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Passaic, New Jersey
A sincere thanks to all of you who responded. It is an old industrial complex, practically abandoned but for two tenants, one of whom has a automotive machine shop; milling machine, drill press, etc. The landlord gets his ps bill, then tells his tenants what they owe him. One of them wants his own meter and that phrase "add a meter to an existing service" is more accurate than my "new service". I'll be in touch with PS with the load info and hopefully get a job out of this. Regards, Walter


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,506 Are you busy
188,682 Re: Forum
178,386 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9704 MB (Peak: 1.1118 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-16 13:54:16 UTC