ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/20/18 11:16 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 07:00 PM
Light Pole Grounding
by HotLine1. 08/20/18 05:34 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 26 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Conduit Body Fill #171464
11/28/07 06:54 PM
11/28/07 06:54 PM
P
poorboy  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 124
Central Maine
Running 4-4inch IMC from a pad mount xformer up the side of a building to a 480 volt 1600 Amp main switch in a second floor electrical room. There will be 4-600 MCM THHN's in each.

The 4 inch LB's (not the extra length ones) say inside they are good for 3-4/0's. Is that all you can fit in 40% of this LB??? I was surprised by this, but had a bit of trouble finding the answer in the 05 NEC.

Probably will have to use a huge weatherproof box (CT Cabinet) to make the transition and run all 4 pipes thru it. Then nipple out the back to the Main Switch.

It is also surprising how hard it is to come in the side of this switch with 4-4 inch conduits...the frame bracing is in the middle of the side panel. 16-600's will be a formidible task.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Conduit Body Fill [Re: poorboy] #171467
11/28/07 08:24 PM
11/28/07 08:24 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
The answer is in 314.28, which applies to not only boxes, but conduit bodies used as pull boxes.
6 times the size of the conduit for angle pulls.


The wording IMO is unclear, referring in A(1)and (2)only to "boxes" and then adding the conduit bodies in the "exception".

314.28(3) addresses the conditions under which a smaller conduit body can be used....it has to be marked with the maximum allowable number and size of conductors.(thus the 3-4/0 marking)




Re: Conduit Body Fill [Re: electure] #171472
11/28/07 10:09 PM
11/28/07 10:09 PM
W
WireNuts29  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 85
Mass, U.S.A.
From expierience, skip the Lb's on any wiring above 350 mcm. It is worth the saved labor trying to wrestle 4 600's into.Especially 4 conduits worth. Get a Utility aproved cabinet.

Re: Conduit Body Fill [Re: WireNuts29] #171487
11/29/07 06:24 AM
11/29/07 06:24 AM
P
poorboy  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 124
Central Maine
I agree on skipping the LB's as a general rule. I have used appropriately sized wireways in indoor locations for years. They are much cheaper and in a 2 or 3 foot length so forgiving with large conductors.

The owner in this case was looking for the neatness of the final installation which would result from LB's but it I now see just can't happen---will have to be a CT cabinet or similar.



Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,670 Are you busy
186,403 Re: Forum
175,893 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9602 MB (Peak: 1.0919 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-21 09:59:19 UTC