ECN Shout Chat
Recent Posts
Chinese motors rated 220 v 50 hertz
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 04:45 PM
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:12 AM
100 Definitions, Likely to Become Energized, 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:08 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Advertisement:-Left
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 701 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#170374 11/01/07 10:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
Im installing a starter/over loads for a 10hp aircompressor. The starter is a GE CL08. Its a 3 phase starter but the compressor is single phase. A switch will turn of the coil when not used and there is a presssure switch on the compressor. Can anyone plz help me out fast. The one I installed worked for a week then the coil was toast. its a 120volt coil . Plz help im in a panic.

Last edited by RDK; 11/01/07 10:25 PM.
Horizontal Ad
RDK #170376 11/01/07 10:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
!0 hp, do you have a control transformer on this 120 volt coil?

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
its 10hp no control transformer

RDK #170378 11/01/07 10:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
coil 120v so im sure i dont need one

RDK #170379 11/01/07 10:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 943
Likes: 2
N
Member
You do if your supplying it with 240 V. That would explain the toasted coil, they dont seem to like being hit with 2X rated voltage. ;<)

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
How can i fix it?

RDK #170383 11/01/07 11:04 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
Anyone have a diagram?

RDK #170386 11/02/07 12:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 33
R
RDK Offline OP
Member
Anyone?

RDK #170388 11/02/07 12:44 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 174
B
Member
Is there a neutral in the control panel or is it just straight 240v?
If all you have is 240v you will have to install a control transformer or change the coil in your contactor to a 240v coil.


Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
Member
you should able to see the coil and replace it with proper voltage coil as what Bigrockk saying there if straght 240 volt no netual wire then you have to use the 240 volt coil it is a stock item.

but i dont have the part number with me at the moment but if you can read the box cover it should be on it.

Merci, Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertisement:-Right

* * * * * * *
Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 
* * * * * * *

2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!

Member Spotlight
togol
togol
NW In. USA
Posts: 421
Joined: September 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
323,675 Are you busy
247,974 Re: Forum
231,751 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5