ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Childrens safety outlets
by dsk - 06/25/22 04:07 PM
AC-DC stage Ultra-Fast charger, how it's made?
by libellis - 06/25/22 12:17 PM
Your favourite food?
by NORCAL - 06/16/22 12:06 AM
Price action trading with RENKO
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 02:08 PM
Please Help Wiring DCDC Buck Converter
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 01:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 46 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#170261 10/30/07 02:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
B
bman Offline OP
Member
Have a job that requires "swapping" of circuits from one panel to another. Past experience tells me that one must remove said circuits entirely from panel enclosure as it is not permissible to use a panel or disconnect enclosure as a raceway for other systems. I got to looking at 300.3 4C and 312.8 and it would seem to cover panel board enclosures so long as sufficient space exists for wire fill. Thoughts?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
B
bman Offline OP
Member
Guess its a good thing this didn’t come up on anyone’s Journeyman’s test.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
408.2 says 312 applys so I;d say yer right . Long as space is there.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,696
Likes: 11
G
Member
Just be aware a lot of AHJs take the first part of that sentence seriously "Enclosures for switches or overcurrent devices shall not be used as junction boxes" and they may want you to show that the listing for that enclosure and panelboard did provide "adequate space for this purpose".


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
Originally Posted by gfretwell
Just be aware a lot of AHJs take the first part of that sentence seriously "Enclosures for switches or overcurrent devices shall not be used as junction boxes" and they may want you to show that the listing for that enclosure and panelboard did provide "adequate space for this purpose".


You can't just take the first part of a sentence and ignore the rest.

You are allowed to use a panel as a jbox provided you meet the rest of 312.8 and unless you are really loading up the panel with splices or it is an older smaller panel there should be plenty of room.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,696
Likes: 11
G
Member
Scott, If I was looking at this and it was done in such a way that did not clutter up the panel too bad I wouldn't have a problem with it but I know some guys who dissagree and have a very limited interpretation of what 312.8 allows.
I have even heard more restrictive spins on this in IAEI seminars from respected road warriors.


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
dsk 2
Trumpy 2
Popular Topics(Views)
292,954 Are you busy
224,974 Re: Forum
210,411 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5