ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,411 Are you busy
177,380 Re: Forum
168,980 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (dougwells), 28 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#170157 - 10/28/07 02:20 PM Cat 5 current carrying capacity  
lyledunn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 159
N.Ireland
I installed a cat 5 cable as part of a proposed dimming system in my newly refubed kitchen. Problem is that I cant afford dimmer pack at the moment. Missus D is not making tea any more! I though I might stick a few relays in a box in the meantime and control them using the cat 5. Cant find any info on net on current carrying capacity probably because they were not designed to carry current per se.


regards

lyle dunn

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement

#170173 - 10/29/07 07:45 AM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: lyledunn]  
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,402
Vienna, Austria
isn't cat 5 22AWG?


#170178 - 10/29/07 08:36 AM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: Texas_Ranger]  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
24 AWG -- Certainly adequate for the sort of relay coil currents you'd need in this application (i.e. < 250mA). It will have to be low-voltage switching, as CAT5 isn't rated for 240V.

I have to ask: Why CAT5 for a proposed dimmer system? Did you just happen to have some spare?


#170271 - 10/30/07 06:06 PM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: pauluk]  
lyledunn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 159
N.Ireland
Paul,
It is a Hamilton-Litestat dimmer pack and they stipulate the wiring system. I guess CAT 5 is very available and adequate for remote control.


regards

lyle dunn

#170281 - 10/30/07 09:45 PM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: lyledunn]  
wacked  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Seems weird that they would specify Cat 5


#170291 - 10/30/07 10:47 PM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: wacked]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,223
SI,New Zealand
A lot of the Clipsal C-Bus stuff here uses Cat-5e for it's wiring.


#170313 - 10/31/07 12:30 PM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: Trumpy]  
EV607797  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
CAT5 is definitely overkill, but widely-available. I am sure that's the primary reason. Unless there's a very unusual need, all telephone/data wiring is 24 gauge. The exception is CAT6, which is 23 gauge.

22 gauge was the norm for surface wiring that was run around baseboards to make it more resilient to damage during installation.

Regardless, it's more than enough to handle the small control circuit loads as Paul mentioned.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."

#170354 - 11/01/07 01:24 PM Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: EV607797]  
pauluk  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
Norfolk, England
Overkill without a doubt -- As Ed says, I guess they just figure it's widely available now and a lot of people will know what it is.



Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.021s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7932 MB (Peak: 0.9571 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-20 16:19:05 UTC