ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Cat 5 current carrying capacity #170157 10/28/07 01:20 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 159
L
lyledunn Offline OP
Member
I installed a cat 5 cable as part of a proposed dimming system in my newly refubed kitchen. Problem is that I cant afford dimmer pack at the moment. Missus D is not making tea any more! I though I might stick a few relays in a box in the meantime and control them using the cat 5. Cant find any info on net on current carrying capacity probably because they were not designed to carry current per se.


regards

lyle dunn
Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: lyledunn] #170173 10/29/07 06:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,491
T
Texas_Ranger Offline
Member
isn't cat 5 22AWG?

Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: Texas_Ranger] #170178 10/29/07 07:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
24 AWG -- Certainly adequate for the sort of relay coil currents you'd need in this application (i.e. < 250mA). It will have to be low-voltage switching, as CAT5 isn't rated for 240V.

I have to ask: Why CAT5 for a proposed dimmer system? Did you just happen to have some spare?

Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: pauluk] #170271 10/30/07 05:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 159
L
lyledunn Offline OP
Member
Paul,
It is a Hamilton-Litestat dimmer pack and they stipulate the wiring system. I guess CAT 5 is very available and adequate for remote control.


regards

lyle dunn
Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: lyledunn] #170281 10/30/07 08:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
W
wacked Offline
Member
Seems weird that they would specify Cat 5

Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: wacked] #170291 10/30/07 09:47 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,379
Trumpy Offline
Member
A lot of the Clipsal C-Bus stuff here uses Cat-5e for it's wiring.

Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: Trumpy] #170313 10/31/07 11:30 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 745
E
EV607797 Offline
Member
CAT5 is definitely overkill, but widely-available. I am sure that's the primary reason. Unless there's a very unusual need, all telephone/data wiring is 24 gauge. The exception is CAT6, which is 23 gauge.

22 gauge was the norm for surface wiring that was run around baseboards to make it more resilient to damage during installation.

Regardless, it's more than enough to handle the small control circuit loads as Paul mentioned.


---Ed---

"But the guy at Home Depot said it would work."
Re: Cat 5 current carrying capacity [Re: EV607797] #170354 11/01/07 12:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,520
P
pauluk Offline
Member
Overkill without a doubt -- As Ed says, I guess they just figure it's widely available now and a lot of people will know what it is.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Scott35
Scott35
Anaheim, CA. USA
Posts: 2,721
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,440 Are you busy
209,338 Re: Forum
196,620 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3